Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Iron Flatline
    Guest

    HDR... shouldn't it be done using ISO bracketing?

    Soooo.... just sitting on a plane, and I've already finished my magazine.

    I was musing, and thought the following: if ISO is a measurement of light sensitivity, wouldn't it make the most sense to ISO bracket for an HDR shot? Rather than exposure time?

    I guess I can answer my own question... most ISO starts graining above 400, so a pristine print is better achieved with Tv bracketing than ISO... but a good noiseless ISO system sure might work nicely...


  2. #2
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    416
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Only one way to find out
    Canon EOS 700 35mm SLR
    Canon EOS 20D dSLR
    Canon 50mm F1.8 Nifty Fifty
    Canon 18-55mm Kit Lens
    Flickr

  3. #3
    Watch the Birdy! Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Southern Vancouver Island, BC
    Posts
    24,462
    My Gallery
    (28)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    5727 times
    Ideally, your exposure changes for an HDR should be made using shutter speed unless subject or camera movement make it impractical, and the reason is that both apeture and ISO have a potential visual impact on the image, ISO as Fe- mentioned by dint of noise, and apeture through DoF.

    From a practical viewpoint, with low ISOs, medium and above shutter speeds, and subjects distant enough to give substantial DoF it likely won't matter much which you use, presuming you shoot in a manual mode.

  4. #4
    Damn You! Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    locked in the attic
    Posts
    8,485
    My Gallery
    (13)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    5 times
    Iron, previously i would have said don't bother trying, as you rightly pointed out about the noise issue... However, with the ISO range and relatively low noise some of the latest bodies have, it would sure be an interesting experiment.

  5. #5
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Posts
    6,083
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    5 times
    SS seems to be the best option. As you said, ISO injects noise. Aperture injects DOF differences. SS is the one that least "changes" the end result but accomplishes the goal... severeal pictures of varying levels of exposure.



  6. #6
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    9,712
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    204 times
    The other obvious problem here is that some of the extreme HDRs are made with 7 exposures. That covers ISO100 to ISO6400 and makes it impractical for all but D3 owners.
    "I am always satisfied with the best." -Oscar Wilde
    Larger versions always on flickr
    Best photos in my gallery

    Proud Supporter of The Pact

  7. #7
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    208
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    But doesn't HDR reduce noise when you process them?
    In the process of going Canon.........

    flickr

  8. #8
    Troll Extraordinaire
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    5,455
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    40 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ChickenFriedRyce View Post
    But doesn't HDR reduce noise when you process them?
    Unfortunately, yes.
    The moment you cheat for the sake of beauty, you know you're an artist.

  9. #9
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    324
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Also I wonder if an HDR program like Photomatix would recognise the settings. I think it looks for shutter times - although I could be mistaken. You could always edit the data though but bit of a pain unless the results are radically different... but I can't see why they would be.

  10. #10
    Troll Extraordinaire
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    5,455
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    40 times
    Does PM not allow you to manually enter shot settings? I know the PS HDR function does.
    The moment you cheat for the sake of beauty, you know you're an artist.

  11. #11
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    324
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    Does PM not allow you to manually enter shot settings? I know the PS HDR function does.
    I don't think it does - or at least I haven't seen that facility when I've used it. Some would also argue that Photoshop doesn't really do HDR properly. I'm not sure about that, but Photomatix can certianly give much more dramatic effects that PS from what I've seen.

  12. #12
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    9,712
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    204 times
    I think NR is done during the process but suppose your final picture is governed mostly by shadows. Everything that originally was dark in the standard exposure is now blanketed with noise, and everything that was original bright is now crystal clear. This would look very ugly having an uneven noise distribution in an image.

    PM doesn't need manual entry as far as I know. I believe just ticking attempt to reverse engineer the tone curve takes care of that for you. Though I may be wrong about this. I have a HDR to do tomorrow anyway so I'll see what happens if I hose the EXIF data before I do it.

    Photoshop does do HDR properly, and there is nothing to it really. What is done differently is the tonemapping (the bit where the HDR is no longer a 32bit HDR file and gets reduced back to our standard 8/16bit files which we can actually use). Not only can photoshop make HDRs just fine, to a limited extent you can do a bit of editing directly in them.

    The tonemapper in photoshop isn't as intuitive as photomatix's either, but identical results can be achieved if you know how to play with that curve tool.
    "I am always satisfied with the best." -Oscar Wilde
    Larger versions always on flickr
    Best photos in my gallery

    Proud Supporter of The Pact

  13. #13
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Slapamonkey, New York
    Posts
    7,958
    My Gallery
    (28)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    Does PM not allow you to manually enter shot settings? I know the PS HDR function does.
    Yes it does


    *EDIT*

    Now that I think about it, you might need to damage or remove the exif first, if mamory serves me correctly the options come up when PM can't find the exposure information.
    Can't understand Deviant Art?

    Click banner for PL main site click here for my PL Gallery

    I shoot Film, Expect Grain and don't bother bringing it up.

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Should I or Shouldn't I?
    By Dmitri in forum Off Topic Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 08:14 PM
  2. Mmm Should I... or shouldn't I?
    By Katier in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 12:16 PM
  3. Really shouldn't have been there...
    By jlykins in forum General Gallery
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-28-2008, 10:41 PM
  4. Should I or shouldn't i?
    By vixenta in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-16-2005, 12:31 AM
  5. Should I or shouldn't i?
    By vixenta in forum Off Topic Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2005, 03:27 PM

Search tags for this page

canon iso bracketing
,
hdr different iso
,

hdr iso

,
hdr using iso
,

iso bracketing

,
iso bracketing canon
,
iso bracketing hdr
,
iso for hdr
Click on a term to search for related topics.