Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    784
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    3 times

    Getting my Sb-800 Wireless

    Ok here's the deal. I already know how to do this with my D90, but I had my D90 replaced and the new one I received doesn't seem to be working correctly. Here's what's going on.

    I want to have have my camera trigger the flash wirelessly, so I set my flash on remote. Then I go into my flash settings on my camera, I tell the built in flash to be a commander instead of TTL. Then I go to the next screen and tell the built in flash to be (--) which means it should be inactive. Then I tell my speedlight to be manual at say 1/4 power. I should be good to go. I open my pop up flash (without doing that it wont trigger the speedlight) and I dial in my settings. I focus, compose, then shoot and strangely enough, both flashes go off. The pop up shouldn't even go off with the (--) setting. My other D90 never had this issue but I'm thinking this one might be defective. Am I missing something?



  2. #2
    Watch the Birdy! Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Southern Vancouver Island, BC
    Posts
    24,940
    My Gallery
    (28)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    6009 times
    I may be missing something, but if you have your built-in flash set to Commander, then it has to go off to trigger the slave. The CLS works because the slave units sense the illumination from the commander and fire accordingly. It sounds to me like it's working exactly the way it should.

  3. #3
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    784
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    3 times
    What you say makes sense, but if I recall my first D90 never triggered the pop up flash, it simply sent out a signal to trigger the SB-800

  4. #4
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Posts
    6,083
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    5 times
    The answer is in here, I am pretty sure of it. Make sure the camera is in COMMANDER mode (if it can do this), and that the flash is up. If the camera cannot act as a commander, then the SB-800 has to be the commander.

    Also, don't be afraid to reference your camera and flash manuals.



  5. #5
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    784
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    3 times
    As I stated above, I did set the camera as a commander and the SB-800 was a remote slave. I set the camera to the mode (--) which should be off, then selected manual at 1/4 power for the SB-800. I popped the flash up so it would trigger the SB-800 and the SB-800 went off, but so did the pop-up. So basically, the pop up flash went off even when it was set at (--) which means off.

  6. #6
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Shepherdsturd, WV / Almost, MD
    Posts
    6,945
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    344 times
    The popup triggers the remote flash. That's how CLS works.
    My name is Will. You may call me Will.
    -Will

    Slough Roast Blog
    Capitol Sound Blog

  7. #7
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion
    Posts
    13,393
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1836 times
    If your previous D90 did not fire the built in flash, then it had a fault. This is how the Commander mode works. Setting the built in flash to (--) will trigger the off camera flash but not contribute to the scene, unless you are up close and particularly at a reflective surface. All is good.
    The Liver is Evil and Must Be Punished.
    Shooter of FX, DX and MFT

    We boogied in the kitchen
    We
    boogied in the hall
    I got something on my finger
    So I wiped it on the wall

    Chuck Berry - Reelin' and Rockin' - Lancaster Arts Festival 1972

  8. #8
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    784
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    3 times
    (sigh of relief) thats good. I've been living on strobist for about 2 days now and finally getting the hang of using off camera flash. I went home last night to try a few things and noticed this and wanted to make sure everything was ok.

  9. #9
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    9,712
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    204 times
    Send the signal by magic? CLS is an IR technology and the brightest source of IR on the camera is the flash.

    Here's a trick. Set everything in the commander to (--) and take a photo. The CLS signal is encoded with the TTL pre-flashes. The flash fires and THEN the shutter opens. That way the flash triggers the wireless slave, but doesn't affect the image.

    This is also why you can't take a photo of a cat using CLS when they are looking at the camera. The CLS flash + TTL preflashes are longer than their blink reaction so when the photo is actually taken they have their eyes closed.
    "I am always satisfied with the best." -Oscar Wilde
    Larger versions always on flickr
    Best photos in my gallery

    Proud Supporter of The Pact

  10. #10
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Posts
    6,083
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    5 times
    Using the remote manual mode cuts down on the # of preflashes (al TTL light measurement preflashes are removed) and this may let you get your cat before it blinks... but maybe not. Some cats are fast (lol).



  11. #11
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    9,712
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    204 times
    No maybe about it:

    Figured it out a while ago. Shot in SU-4 mode manual 1/4 power, with camera flash set to manual 1/16th with my hand blocking the flash from hitting the cat directly.
    "I am always satisfied with the best." -Oscar Wilde
    Larger versions always on flickr
    Best photos in my gallery

    Proud Supporter of The Pact

  12. #12
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    101
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    The only way to remotely fire an off camera strobe is with a PocketWizard or some equivalent. The commander mode works in IR and thus requires some form of flash from the pop-up. That is why the commander mode doesn't work when you are out of sight. If it was truly remote, as a PW is, then it wouldn't matter.

    Cool shot of the cat, BTW.

  13. #13
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    9,712
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    204 times
    Quote Originally Posted by In2daBlue View Post
    If it was truly remote, as a PW is, then it wouldn't matter..
    Hate to be the pedantic engineer here, but remote means exactly that. Not directly attached. Now whether the signal is sent via light, radio, microwave, or even sound, remote is still remote. Much like your infrared TV remote.

    Not being able to shoot around corners makes it no less of a remote. (esp given the price of PWs )
    "I am always satisfied with the best." -Oscar Wilde
    Larger versions always on flickr
    Best photos in my gallery

    Proud Supporter of The Pact

  14. #14
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    101
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Garbz View Post
    Hate to be the pedantic engineer here, but remote means exactly that. Not directly attached. Now whether the signal is sent via light, radio, microwave, or even sound, remote is still remote. Much like your infrared TV remote.

    Not being able to shoot around corners makes it no less of a remote. (esp given the price of PWs )
    Clarification taken. You're right. But, my point about PW (or some equivalent) being the only way to fire a strobe out of sight from the pop-up (wirelessly) is what I was trying to get at.

  15. #15
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    minnesota
    Posts
    3,505
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    685 times
    Quote Originally Posted by In2daBlue View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Garbz View Post
    Hate to be the pedantic engineer here, but remote means exactly that. Not directly attached. Now whether the signal is sent via light, radio, microwave, or even sound, remote is still remote. Much like your infrared TV remote.

    Not being able to shoot around corners makes it no less of a remote. (esp given the price of PWs )
    Clarification taken. You're right. But, my point about PW (or some equivalent) being the only way to fire a strobe out of sight from the pop-up (wirelessly) is what I was trying to get at.

    Mirrors....

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. What is the Best Value going Wireless
    By leroyneal in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 11:59 PM
  2. Wireless SB-600 and D40
    By Applefanboy in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-22-2008, 02:48 PM
  3. Wireless
    By dtlasky in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 03:55 AM
  4. sb-600 wireless?
    By just x joey in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-28-2007, 05:36 PM
  5. Wireless at last!
    By PlasticSpanner in forum Off Topic Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-08-2006, 09:37 PM

Search tags for this page

can d7000 trigger sb800 remote wirelessly
,

does sb800 works as remote flash

,
fire sb 800 wireless
,
fire sb-800 wirlessly
,
how to trigger a sb800 remotely
,
how to use sb800 off camera with d700
,

sb800 remote trigger

,

using a remote trigger with d700 and sb800

Click on a term to search for related topics.