Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South East Michigan
    Posts
    14
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    2 times

    Will a wireless shutter release work on ANY Canon Body ? ?

    Im going on a vacation soon,
    and im renting a 5d mark ii, and ditching my ol' XSi. (Well rather using it as a backup)

    Its just going to be me and my girlfriend, and its an important trip to me, because im gonna be proposing to her. So I need a wireless release along with my tripod so that I can take pictures of both of us together at the national parks and all that. Since we obviously won't have anyone to take pictures of us.

    My question is, do all infrared remotes made for Canon work on all Canon body's ??
    I have a wireless shutter release (infrared) that works with my XSi. It also says on the website that it works with a variety of other Canon body's. But the 5d mkii isn't listed there as a compatible camera. This is the one that I own:
    Amazon.com: Wireless Shutter Release Remote for Canon EOS, Rebel: Camera & Photo
    I know its a cheap brand remote, but I can't afford to buy all the Canon branded accessories.

    Is it safe to assume that since its just infrared, that it would still work on the 5d mkii ???

    I have seen other cheaper brand wireless releases that look almost identical, that support the 5d mkii.
    Example: supports 5d mkii
    Amazon.com: Opteka RC-4 Wireless Remote Control for Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT, XTi, XSi, T1i, T2i, T3i, 60D, 7D & 5D Mark II Digital SLR Cameras: Electronics
    It makes no sense to me to buy another remote, if my current one will work fine. But then again, it would suck to be far away from home or a store and not have a wireless shutter.


    Thanks a lot,
    Nick



  2. #2
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    6,850
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1003 times
    Infrared is so hit or miss, especially if outside or at any distance .

    FYI If you have pocketwizards you can trigger your camera flawlessy.
    D800 |Nikon 24-70 | Nikon 70-200 VRII | 50mm f/1.4 | Manfrotto | pocketwizards | flashes

  3. #3
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South East Michigan
    Posts
    14
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    2 times
    Im not too worried about that. Ive used the cheap infrared on my XSi on two separate vacations and It really just worked for what I needed it to.

    For the pictures of me and her, im not too worried about distance and crazy reliability, I just want to be able to take pictures of the two of us on vacation.
    Im renting the 5d mkii really for landscape photos and such. Plus I really don't have the extra cash to buy something like pocketwizards, traveling from Michigan to California for 10 days + buying a ring, isn't exactly easy on the wallet. lol.

  4. #4
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    6,850
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1003 times
    Can't imagine it working "less well" on the nice 5D you're renting. Have fun on that trip, hope you post up a few pics
    D800 |Nikon 24-70 | Nikon 70-200 VRII | 50mm f/1.4 | Manfrotto | pocketwizards | flashes

  5. #5
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South East Michigan
    Posts
    14
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    2 times
    So pretty much any infrared should work then is what your saying? My current remote should work on the 5D?

    Thanks a lot, ill be sure to post some pics. We aren't going until May 17th, just trying to plan a few final things.

  6. #6
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    6,850
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1003 times
    I'm not familiar with Canon but if its like Nikon it will on the higher model. You can google the manual for the IR and cam, or worse case scenario set the timer for 10 seconds and run for it
    D800 |Nikon 24-70 | Nikon 70-200 VRII | 50mm f/1.4 | Manfrotto | pocketwizards | flashes

  7. #7
    I am Big, I am Mike Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    33,446
    My Gallery
    (111)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1661 times
    No, it won't work on 'any' Canon.

    For a long time, it was only the lower level DSLR (Rebels) that has the built-in ability to trigger the shutter with a remote. My 20D certainly didn't have that ability. Someone in one of my classes asked me if the remote from their Rebel would work with their new 5DmkII and I didn't think it would...but she pulled it out and it worked. So I'm not sure which models are compatible and which aren't.

  8. #8
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ft. Worth, TX
    Posts
    205
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    7 times
    Since your taking the other body with you too why not just use that for the question photo?
    Canon XTi
    Canon kit lense 35-80mm
    Quantary 70-300mm
    Canon 50mm 1.8
    Tamron 17-50mm 2.8 non VC

    Best priced lens rentals www.webelenses.com

  9. #9
    No longer a newbie, moving up!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Fort St. John, British Columbia
    Posts
    71
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    The IR remote that I bought about 10 years ago for my Elan 7 works just fine with my 60D, if that helps.

    JM

  10. #10
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Kitchener ON
    Posts
    449
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    5 times
    As someone that has had a Canon XS and a 5D MKII i can say taht the Cannon ir trigger works for both. the 5D MKII needs to be set on 2second or 10second timer but the IR trigger will work. I can not say for sure is the 3rd party one will but if it works on the XSI then im 95% sure it will work on the 5D MKII
    [Canon EOS 5D MKII ] [Canon EOS 3000N (film)]
    [Sigma 24-70 2.8]
    [Canon 430EX II]
    [Promaster flash triggers] [Canon shutter trigger]
    [Pelican 1500] [LowePro SlingShot 200 AW]

    photosandfrustrations (unlinked)
    Flickr (unlinked)

    Edit with: GIMP, Photoshop CS5, Lightroom 3.4.1


  11. #11
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts
    2,004
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    919 times
    The Canon IR trigger used to be the RC-5, now it's the RC-6 which looks identical except for a tiny switch that lets you set it for a 2 sec delay or just fire instantly.

    However... that same RC-5 & RC-6 works on the XSi and the 5D II. If this 3rd party IR remote that you have is compatible with the RC-5 / RC-6 remotes, then it should also work with the 5D II.

    My guess is that it will work.

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless Shutter Release
    By Trever1t in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-18-2011, 07:50 PM
  2. Wireless Shutter Release?
    By ababysean in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 07:36 PM
  3. wireless shutter release
    By maman in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 04:01 PM
  4. Wireless Shutter Release
    By ChickenFriedRyce in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-27-2008, 10:30 AM
  5. Is there a wireless shutter release for the 20d?
    By Bokeh in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 06:16 AM

Search tags for this page

can canon d5 work remotely

,

can you use a wireless remote with the canon t3

,

do wireless shutter releases work with all cameras

,

does canon eos 5d mk2 have infared shutter control?

,
how do canon shutter releases work
,

is there a wireless shutter release for a canon60d

,
promaster infrared remote shutter for canon rebel t3i
,
will digipower nikon remote work with canon
Click on a term to search for related topics.