Results 1 to 13 of 13
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Dao
  • 1 Post By Big Mike

Thread: Auto shoot every x seconds (interval meter?) on a 5D Mark III

  1. #1
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times

    Auto shoot every x seconds (interval meter?) on a 5D Mark III

    Hello All !

    I've been reading the documentation back and forth and can't seem to find a way to have the 5D Mark III take photos by itself every "x" seconds (i believe it's called "interval meter") but can't seem to find it. This feature is present on a lot of much less expensive cameras; is it possible it just doesn't exist on the 5DmIII ?

    Thanks for your help !



  2. #2
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    768
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    160 times
    Not on a 5dIII I don't think. I have a remote switch I bought from B&H that has that capability although I've never used it for that. It's a Vello Wireless Shutterboss if your interested. I use it for wireless plus exposures longer than 30 seconds. On a 5dIII you only get HS or Low speed multiple exposures while holding down the shutter.

  3. #3
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,379
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    186 times
    I don't know... My nikon D7000 has the capabilities, I know it's a newer camera but I think the Mark III would have it.. however, I'm a nikon guy myself. Hopefully it does!
    Website || Facebook Page || Flickr || TPF Rules

    Nikon D7000 -- Nikkor 24-70 -- Nikkor 70-200mm VRII -- Nikkor 50 1.8 -- Nikkor 18-55 -- SB-700 -- Alienbees B800 + Vagabond Mini

    Studying Abroad in Brisbane, Australia from February 6th- June 15th, check out my website and blog for all of my travel pictures or add me on my personal Facebook!

  4. #4
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Posts
    2,051
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    362 times

    Auto shoot every x seconds (interval meter?) on a 5D Mark III

    I don't think any of the canon bodies have it built in. What you need is an intervalometer

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/USA-LCD-Time...item4abfab4bc2
    Real Photographers know the Scheimpflug Principle!!!

  5. #5
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for your response Rick !
    What a bummer, it looks like this function is indeed not available from within the camera!
    Looks like this is the product I will need to get: Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote RCW-C2 B&H Photo Video or http://www.adorama.com/HHGTPTCA.html


    Quote Originally Posted by Rick50 View Post
    Not on a 5dIII I don't think. I have a remote switch I bought from B&H that has that capability although I've never used it for that. It's a Vello Wireless Shutterboss if your interested. I use it for wireless plus exposures longer than 30 seconds. On a 5dIII you only get HS or Low speed multiple exposures while holding down the shutter.
    Last edited by nauliv; 01-23-2013 at 02:28 AM.

  6. #6
    Dao
    Dao is offline
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,858
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    332 times
    TCampbell likes this.

  7. #7
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Western south Jersey, USA
    Posts
    122
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    15 times
    Quote Originally Posted by nauliv View Post
    Thanks for your response Rick !
    What a bummer, it looks like this function is indeed not available from within the camera!
    Looks like this is the product I will need to get: Vello Wireless ShutterBoss Timer Remote RCW-C2 B&H Photo Video or Hahnel Giga T Pro 300 Wireless Shutter Remote for Canon HLHWGIGAC
    I have the Vello device - it's pretty slick - all kinds of shutter timings, delays, etc. It has a small piece that fits in the hot shoe and plugs into the camera, and wireless remote that you use to set it up and trigger it. I've used it to take up to 99 shots with a timed delay between each one, delay for a period of time and then take the shots, and so on.
    6D | 50D | 17-40mm f/4L | 24-105mm f/4L | 28mm f/2.8 | 35mm f/2.0 | 50mm f/1.8 II | 70-200mm f/4L | 80-200 f/2.8L Magic DrainPipe | 85mm f/1.8 | 100mm f/2.8 Macro | 100-400mm f/4.5L
    A small, friendly photo forum: http://www.jmhare.com/LensFlair/index.php
    More of my digital cave paintings on FLICKR

  8. #8
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    17
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    2 times
    Magic lantern firmware has this I think. There is a version for the 5d mark 3 available. I downloaded this to my camera a while ago and it pretty slick.

  9. #9
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Somewhere in Florida
    Posts
    566
    My Gallery
    (8)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    55 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dixiek55 View Post
    Magic lantern firmware has this I think. There is a version for the 5d mark 3 available. I downloaded this to my camera a while ago and it pretty slick.

    I am surprised they already released the 5d3 version! I use Magic Lantern on my T3i and it is absolutely great! I fully recommend it.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/wisephotographic/

    Please ask me any questions, I would love to hear feedback about my work.

    “There is nothing worse than a brilliant image of a fuzzy concept.”
    --Ansel Adams

    Canon T3i Gripped
    -- Canon 70-200 f/2.8
    L --Canon 50 f1.8 -- Olympus OM 50 f1.8 -- Olympus OM 28 f3.5 -- Flipside 15L Sport -- Pelican 1500



  10. #10
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts
    1,743
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    746 times
    Canon's official way to do this is the Canon TC-80N3 "timer Remote Controller" that Dao linked above.

    There are 3rd parties who make similar devices and they cost generally cost less (Canon's part isn't cheap.)

    I didn't realize Magic Lantern had a build for the 5D III either... but I've used ML on other bodies and that would be another way.
    Tim Campbell

  11. #11
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Hello Folks,
    Wao, I didn't know about the Magic Lantern firmware, this is really interesting! So glad I joined this forum !
    I'll go for the Vello wireless, and will let you know !!
    Thanks again for your advices!

  12. #12
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    840
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    71 times
    Remotes and wireless remotes - remote 5D III | eBay
    Cameras - Canon 350D, 5D
    Lenses - Canon 18-55mm, 75-300mm, 50mm f/1.8, 24-105L, 24-70L
    Flashes - Canon 430EX II, Yongnuo YN460 II, YN468
    RF-602 transmitter and 2 receivers

  13. #13
    I am Big, I am Mike Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    33,206
    My Gallery
    (111)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1571 times
    Another way, not mentioned yet, is to connect the camera to a computer for tethered shooting. I'm not sure if the EOS utility software has an intervolometer but I'm sure there is software that will do it. Maybe not as convenient as having it built into a remote, but it's another option.

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Minolta Auto Meter / Light / Flash meter. IV F
    By matthewo in forum Buy and Sell
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2012, 02:31 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2012, 01:18 PM
  3. Minolta Auto Meter IIIF??? Anyone used this meter?
    By therustytracks in forum Film Discussion and Q & A
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 09:30 PM
  4. Interval-O-Meter "What-if" software
    By Helmar in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2010, 07:43 AM
  5. How do you meter exposures > 30 seconds?
    By Riggaberto in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-19-2007, 07:49 AM

Search tags for this page

5d mark ii interval timer

,

5d mark iii interval timer

,

canon 5d mark iii interval shooting

,
how to set auto take photo in 5 d mark 3
,
how to set timer on canon 5d mark iii
,
interval shooting canon 5d
,
interval shooting canon 5d mark ii
,
interval timer 5d mark 3
,
interval timer canon 5d mark ii
,
set auto shoot on canon 5d mark ii
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread