Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times

    Question Canon 5D MK II Questions

    Hello. I recently got a Canon 5D Mk II, which was quite an upgrade from my Sony a200. However, I am experiencing some difficulties with the camera. My main issue is the quality and consistency of the images when uploading them onto my computer. I adjust the lighting and shutter speed on my camera to perfection, but when I upload them to my computer and open them in my Photoshop CS4 Raw editor, they are substantially darker. The white balance of the photos is also very different. After doing some research, I've learned that I should invest in a calibration kit. I'm sure my Macbook's screen is not up to par in regards to calibration. Regardless, what strikes me as odd, is that I never had this problem with my Sony a200. The images shown on my a200's screen were almost identical to how they opened in RAW on my Macbook.

    So what that leaves me wondering is:
    1. Is my Macbook's screen really that out of calibration?
    2. Or is my newest version of Adobe RAW (had to upgrade in order to open the cr2 files) slightly messed up?
    3. Is there a setting on my Mk II that can correct this?

    I've also noticed extreme contrasting on my Mk II from the day I opened it. It could be because I am so used to Sony's quality, but all the photos I have been taking have really deep contrast, even when I tweak the settings. Is it just me, or is there something faulty here as well?

    I appreciate whatever information you can give me. Thank you!



  2. #2
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sydney - Australia
    Posts
    1,053
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1 times
    Make sure your exposure compensation is set on 0 and not -1 or -2

    As for white balance are you shooting AWB or adjusting for each scene?

  3. #3
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    I don't have my camera on me right this second but I have not touched the exposure compensation. And I have generally been using the shade preset for the white balance.
    Last edited by blakejacobsen; 03-30-2011 at 09:44 PM. Reason: typos

  4. #4
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    12,891
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    4924 times
    Quote Originally Posted by blakejacobsen View Post
    I adjust the lighting and shutter speed on my camera to perfection, but when I upload them to my computer and open them in my Photoshop CS4 Raw editor, they are substantially darker.
    What are you using to gage the image's perfection when you take the shot? The LCD monitor on the camera? The Histogram?

  5. #5
    KmH
    KmH is offline
    Helping photographers learn to fish
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33,539
    My Gallery
    (1)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    3909 times
    Plus how do you have Camera Raw configured in CS4?
    . . . . . . Keith . . . . . . .How Do I Use My Digital SLR?...
    Effort equals results - Roger Penske

  6. #6
    KmH
    KmH is offline
    Helping photographers learn to fish
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33,539
    My Gallery
    (1)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    3909 times
    Laptops are not real good for image editing.
    . . . . . . Keith . . . . . . .How Do I Use My Digital SLR?...
    Effort equals results - Roger Penske

  7. #7
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bitter Jeweler View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by blakejacobsen View Post
    I adjust the lighting and shutter speed on my camera to perfection, but when I upload them to my computer and open them in my Photoshop CS4 Raw editor, they are substantially darker.
    What are you using to gage the image's perfection when you take the shot? The LCD monitor on the camera? The Histogram?
    What I meant by adjusting the lighting to perfection was: Adjusting the shutter speed in adaptation to ISO 100 in order to achieve, based on what I see on the LCD after taking a few shots, what I believe to be sufficient lighting. I have not fiddled with the histogram yet (purely because I have no experience understanding/reading one).
    Last edited by blakejacobsen; 03-30-2011 at 09:48 PM.

  8. #8
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    7
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by KmH View Post
    Laptops are not real good for image editing.
    Can you elaborate upon what you mean by configuration? I use Camera Raw 5.2.0.65.
    Also, I don't have a computer to do editing with sadly.

  9. #9
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    12,891
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    4924 times
    Quote Originally Posted by blakejacobsen View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bitter Jeweler View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by blakejacobsen View Post
    I adjust the lighting and shutter speed on my camera to perfection, but when I upload them to my computer and open them in my Photoshop CS4 Raw editor, they are substantially darker.
    What are you using to gage the image's perfection when you take the shot? The LCD monitor on the camera? The Histogram?
    Well, what I meant by adjusting the lighting to perfect was: Adjusting the shutter speed in correlation to ISO 100 to achieve, based on what I see on the LCD after taking a few shots, what I believe to be sufficient lighting. I have not fiddled with the histogram yet.
    Yup, that's a big part of the problem. You can't rely on the LCD to tell you the shots are perfect. It lies. Take your brightness setting and ambient light into consideration. The histogram is more reliable when you understand how it works and what it tells you.

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Canon AE-1 questions
    By bumpin88 in forum Film Discussion and Q & A
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-18-2011, 01:18 PM
  2. Canon 50mm Questions...
    By hacksaw35 in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 02:53 PM
  3. Questions: Canon, CF, RAW
    By (Ghastly) Krueger in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-10-2007, 11:14 PM
  4. Canon FTb Questions
    By legitballer in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-21-2004, 02:02 PM
  5. Canon Ftb: some general questions.
    By Marco120588 in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2003, 07:01 PM

Search tags for this page

blake jacobsen videos

,

canon 5d mark ii load photos onto pc

,

canon 5d upload problem

,

canon d5 mkii

,

how do you upload pictures to computer from canon 5d

,
how to upload photos directly from canon 5d
,

how to upload photos from canon 5d

,
how to upload photos from canon 5d mk ii
,

how to upload pictures from canon 5d to macbook

,
how to upload pictures onto computer from a canon mark ii 5d
Click on a term to search for related topics.