Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Probably a scam....

  1. #1
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    220
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    7 times

    Probably a scam....

    Got an inquiry this afternoon from "Kelly Brown". Because I tend to get a lot of scam inquiries (not sure why), I'm in the habit of looking them all up before I respond.


    Hi! I'm Kelly Brown. We will be needing some one ASAP to take up the photography aspect of our wedding occasion scheduled for next month , 03.10.2012 starting from 10;00 AM - 04;00 PM . So what I am asking is -;

    A package which includes six hours of shooting time plus a 20 page custom designed album .

    THIS PACKAGE INCLUDES:


    * 6 hours of photography; Mix of color and black and white, creative effects.

    * 250+ professionally processed wedding photos, in print and on copyright-free CD OR USB.

    * 20 page custom wedding album - all prints on archival quality .


    Album in top quality, elegant and built to last a lifetime for the memory of our kids and families.

    * 11x14 Portrait Print - We'll choose any image from the wedding photos .


    So some questions I have are ;-


    - What is your base price fee for what I am asking? Is that negotiable?

    - Your availability/ schedule for the coming month? You available?

    - Are you willing to travel ? considering both the lodging and the travels will be taken care of. Please email back confirming your availability. Thank you


    Kelly.
    kellybrown1977@gmail.com
    ...This doesn't look like a scam, but the address listed at the bottom (kellybrown1977@gmail.com) is not the address it came from. That is: brown1231910@hotmail.com and leads to "personal assistant" fraud listings on Craigslist. These things bum me out . I also can't figure out what the angle is. Any one have any thoughts?

    I went ahead and responded very briefly on the chance its legit, but I'm afraid I've had more scammers emailing me lately than legit brides.
    Nette and phototao like this.

  2. # ADS

  3. #2
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    149
    My Gallery
    (5)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    17 times
    could be a newbie trying to get an idea of what to charge. Going this route gets them their answer verses them just cold calling and saying "hey, I am in the same business as you, what do you charge so I can figure out my prices?"

  4. #3
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    680
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    148 times
    "to take up the photography aspect of our wedding "

    Who the F talks like that?

    Here is how the scams work, You say it's $2000. They mail you a check for $3,000...Ooops we made a mistake, send me a check for $1,000 back or bank wire or paypal or whatever. You in good faith do. a week later. Bank calls says Check is no good you got. You loose

  5. #4
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Mid-Atlantic US
    Posts
    5,497
    My Gallery
    (63)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    614 times
    Scam
    seen this exact thing in another place.
    why not play it out and find out the address they want the check sent to?
    Lew

    Pictures and the occasional blog posting about photography and travel at http://lewlortonphoto.com



  6. #5
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Guelph, Onatario
    Posts
    1
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Hi Cinka,

    I got the same thing and I'm in Guelph, Ontario. I also got another with the exact same heading but a different wedding date and name. Totally a scam!

  7. #6
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1 times
    I got "hired" for Kelly Brown's wedding too, but something didn't sound right from the very beginning. Thank you for posting this. I wonder how many photographers "Kelly" is hiring.
    shaw likes this.

  8. #7
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryland USA
    Posts
    305
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    21 times
    Quote Originally Posted by TMBPhotography View Post
    could be a newbie trying to get an idea of what to charge. Going this route gets them their answer verses them just cold calling and saying "hey, I am in the same business as you, what do you charge so I can figure out my prices?"
    Agreed, I will bet this is a local photographer doing some "market research" . Way too specific to be a client. The reason I am thinking this is because they are asking for digital copies but still want to order a book, that does not make sense.
    ELUSION | custom wedding and portrait photography
    MD / DC / VAhttp://elusionphotos.com


  9. #8
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryland USA
    Posts
    305
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    21 times
    shaw likes this.
    ELUSION | custom wedding and portrait photography
    MD / DC / VAhttp://elusionphotos.com


  10. #9
    No longer a newbie, moving up!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pitman, NJ
    Posts
    96
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    21 times
    This.

    Any time you get an email from an unknown sender you should Google the email address and 8/10 times you can determine if it's a scammer or not.
    "Dad with Camera" and Nikon fanboy.

  11. #10
    It's all about - Light Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    22,078
    My Gallery
    (1)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1743 times
    Pretty much just like last scam you posted about:

    Scam
    jowensphoto likes this.
    . . . . . . Keith . . . . . . .How Do I Use My Digital SLR?...

    "Even the easy things are tough, if you do them half-heartedly"
    FOR SALE : Stay Tuned!

  12. #11
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Backyard
    Posts
    12
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times
    These kind of scams are too old on the book and yet they still pursue just to fool anybody.

  13. #12
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Il
    Posts
    1
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    I received this same email but a different date and have been corresponding with her for a couple of days now. Don't want to sound dumb but it never crossed my mine that it was a scam until today and did some digging. So did anyone ever find out if this is really a scam? I was excited about the job and I do get emails wanting quotes for weddings all the time and have landed the jobs. Feeling at little pi**ed off now! Any info would be appreciated!!!

  14. #13
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    4,443
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    582 times
    Send money in advance and they'll throw in a free Nigerian parrot.
    naptime and JReichert like this.
    D700 | Nikon 24-70 | Nikon 70-200 VRII | 50mm f/1.4 | Manfrotto | pocketwizards | flashes

  15. #14
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    369
    My Gallery
    (10)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    32 times
    Tell dear miss Kelly that you need a non-refundable (unusually large) deposit.

  16. #15
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Sydney, AU
    Posts
    22
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times
    ...most probably, just be careful mate!


 
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. What is the scam?
    By dEARlEADER in forum Photographic Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 04:01 AM
  2. is this a scam????
    By 99csvtoledo in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 06:19 PM
  3. Scam?
    By SanctuS in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-01-2008, 04:21 PM
  4. Is this a SCAM
    By Richard in forum Photographic Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 06:41 PM

Search tags for this page

* 6 hours of photography; mix of color and black and white, creative effects. * 250 professionally processed wedding pho
,
brown1231910@hotmail.com
,
brown14110@gmail.com
,
elizabeth kelly brown scam
,
hi! i'm kelly brown. mike and i will be getting married soon. we will be needing some one asap to photograph our wedding
,
kelly brown 1977
,
kelly brown
,
kelly brown elizabeth brown scammers
,
kelly brown photo scam
,
kelly brown photography scam
,
kelly brown scam
,
kelly brown scammer
,
kelly brown wedding inquiry
,

kelly brown wedding scam

,

kellybrown1977@gmail.com

Click on a term to search for related topics.