please help Daisy??

This is a discussion on please help Daisy?? within the General Shop Talk forums, part of the The Business District category; It's sad that people do this to photographers. We all want that "big break" and they just feed on it. I'm sorry to those this ...


Go Back   The Photo Forum - Photography Discussion Forum > The Business District > General Shop Talk


General Shop Talk Looking to make your hobby into a business? Already in business? This is the place for you. Discuss marketing, pricing, legal issues and other ideas relating to the business of photography.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2007, 12:09 PM   #31
Banned
 
elsaspet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 4,062
My Photos Are OK to Edit
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My Gallery: (0)
It's sad that people do this to photographers. We all want that "big break" and they just feed on it.
I'm sorry to those this has happened to, but your break will come along.
elsaspet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

ThePhotoForum.com is the premier Photography Forum & Digital Camera Resource! Registered Users do not see the above ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Old 01-31-2008, 10:44 AM   #32
TPF Noob!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My Gallery: (0)
Scam messages

I got this message through on myspace only 2 days ago...


Portfolio
Hello,
I represent a beautylinks modelling company in London and we have
selected your portfolio for a Coca-Cola billboard advertisement at Heathrow Airport. all we need is your approval to enable us process your
payment, no commission, no overhead costs. you just get paid for your pictures right away.
email your replies to van_banks504@yahoo.com
Vaneesa Banks.
Financier:beautylinks london.
61 Moscow Road,
London W2 4JS

Thought I would post on here and let you guys know they are still in action.

Amanda



Amanda68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 10:57 AM   #33
I spend too much of my life on TPF!
 
Double H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Around the corner from the Turkey Hill, PA
Posts: 436
My Photos Are OK to Edit
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My Gallery: (0)
Something else that seems strange here is there are several first-time-posters in this thread with very similar spelling/grammar/punctuation mistakes as the scam emails.

Just seems odd.

Here is a very funny phishbaiting site - very funny stuff: http://www.419eater.com/index.htm

Last edited by Double H; 01-31-2008 at 11:27 AM. Reason: added link
Double H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 03:31 PM   #34
TPF Junkie!
 
Rachelsne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Yorktown, VA, USA
Posts: 1,123
My Photos Are OK to Edit
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My Gallery: (0)
Quote: Originally Posted by Glen C View Post
The police warned people here about something very similar. It comes from people selling cars online. The seller gets contacted and the buyer arranges to send way more money then the car is selling for along with a request to have the balance sent overseas somewhere. Turns out the same way digital flower said it does. They cash the check, send the funds, and a couple days later the check bounces and they're out that money. If it sounds to good to be true chances are....

Tell them you'll agree to their terms but you won't send any money until the check clears. You won't hear from them again...
Yep good old money laundering scam....
__________________
In April 2008 I bought my first DSLR - a Canon 30d with the canon 50mm F1.8 and the Sigma 70-300 F4-5.6 APO DG Macro, and 430ex II flash.

To learn more about me visit my
Blog I also have pictures on Flikr

I will critique your photos, but remember I am new and still have alot to learn too, so repay the favor when you see me post




Rachelsne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 03:37 PM   #35
TPF Junkie!
 
Rachelsne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Yorktown, VA, USA
Posts: 1,123
My Photos Are OK to Edit
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My Gallery: (0)
Quote: Originally Posted by Double H View Post
Something else that seems strange here is there are several first-time-posters in this thread with very similar spelling/grammar/punctuation mistakes as the scam emails.

Just seems odd.

Here is a very funny phishbaiting site - very funny stuff: http://www.419eater.com/index.htm

They may have googled coca cola bilboard or something and found this thread through that?

Many scamers seem to have English as a second language and there spelling and grammar is bad
__________________
In April 2008 I bought my first DSLR - a Canon 30d with the canon 50mm F1.8 and the Sigma 70-300 F4-5.6 APO DG Macro, and 430ex II flash.

To learn more about me visit my
Blog I also have pictures on Flikr

I will critique your photos, but remember I am new and still have alot to learn too, so repay the favor when you see me post




Rachelsne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   The Photo Forum - Photography Discussion Forum > The Business District > General Shop Talk


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Sponsored Links

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Celebrity Gossip - United States Message Board - Parrot Forum - Honda Motorcycle - iPhone Forum - Motorola Droid Forum - Nintendo Wii Forum - Apple iPad Forum