Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Using Lightroom on 2 Computers? HELP!

  1. #1
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    18
    My Gallery
    (13)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times

    Using Lightroom on 2 Computers? HELP!

    I'm hoping someone here can help me out. I apologize if this has been covered before, but I didn't see anything in my search here and google only confused me more. I warn you, I am incredibly non-technical.

    I currently use my PC to edit images. I'm planning on installing lightroom on my laptop so I can take it to work and edit on my lunch hour, which would give me much more time at home with my family. I had planned to place my images on a network so I could access them from my laptop. (By "I," I mean someone that knows what they're doing.) But I realized that I had no way to work in the same lightroom application from different locations. I understand lightroom is not multi-system friendly. I also understand that it's not very network friendly, either. Does anyone use 2 computers to edit the same photos? If so, how the heck are you doing it?



  2. #2
    Chief Free Electron Relocator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    14,688
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    4502 times
    I'm not a LR user, but perhaps LR licenses are only valid on one computer?
    I see dead pixels!
    Go forth and actuate!



    Lens Across America, ROUND 3!!!!


  3. #3
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    5,437
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1846 times
    When you agreed to the license terms (you did read that, right?) you agreed to use the software on one computer. One doesn't mean two, and Adobe isn't going to authorize it on two I wouldn't think.
    Scott Craig - Nashville, TN - Nikon D7100, D7000, D90, D60
    My web site: Tennessee in Photographs

  4. #4
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,144
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    209 times
    You can use it on up to two computers.. It's in their faq, right on their site.. did you try going to adobe's site?

    FAQ | Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4

    How many computers are covered by a single license of Lightroom 4?

    Subject to the terms of the software license agreement, the primary user of the computer on which Lightroom is installed may install a second copy of the software for his or her exclusive use on either a portable computer or a home computer, provided that the software is not used on both computers at the same time. Lightroom is sold as multiplatform software, which means it can be installed on either Mac OS X or Windows.

  5. #5
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    3,611
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1777 times
    You are licensed on 2 computers.

  6. #6
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    3,611
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1777 times
    I understand what your question is though. How do you save what you have done from one computer and then continue on to your laptop with the changes you have made? Is that what you mean?

  7. #7
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    18
    My Gallery
    (13)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    My question isn't about licensing or how to actually install it on 2 systems. I'm wondering how to manage the workflow on 2 computers. How do I share my lightroom catalog between the two so that I can work on both systems seamlessly? I want to be able to access, edit and save the same batch of photos from each computer.

  8. #8
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    18
    My Gallery
    (13)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by kathythorson View Post
    I understand what your question is though. How do you save what you have done from one computer and then continue on to your laptop with the changes you have made? Is that what you mean?
    Yes! I'm afraid that if I import/export from each system, it'll be confusing and I'll risk lost edits or multiple copies of the same images.

  9. #9
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,577
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    300 times
    licencing is not an issue. the problem your going to have is to keep your catalogs sync and the files on both computer with the same file structure.


    you're going to have to do it yourself. every time you finish working on your home computer, you need to make a backup copy of your lightroom catalog and copy this catalog to your laptop somehow. You will also need to sync your files from your computer to your laptop.


    on thing you can do is to work you files from a usb hard drive (not recommended as its slow as ****) and then reconnect that usb drive to your laptop once you need to work from your laptop, opening the catalog (backup copy) from the usb drive

    other option is to create shares on both machine and once you have both on the network you can copy/sync the files.

  10. #10
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    2,144
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    209 times
    Quote Originally Posted by MrsBaker View Post
    My question isn't about licensing or how to actually install it on 2 systems. I'm wondering how to manage the workflow on 2 computers. How do I share my lightroom catalog between the two so that I can work on both systems seamlessly? I want to be able to access, edit and save the same batch of photos from each computer.
    My bad.. I should've read better.

  11. #11
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,577
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    300 times
    I would use Beyond compare to do this as its a great tool to makes this sort of copies. it will do incremental copy vs full copy of files everytime. same thing as a backup system with the 0-1 bits

  12. #12
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    3,611
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1777 times
    Quote Originally Posted by MrsBaker View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by kathythorson View Post
    I understand what your question is though. How do you save what you have done from one computer and then continue on to your laptop with the changes you have made? Is that what you mean?
    Yes! I'm afraid that if I import/export from each system, it'll be confusing and I'll risk lost edits or multiple copies of the same images.
    This is the reason I only edit off of my main desktop and then just use my laptop for messing around. Plus you will never have consistant color if you go back and forth.

  13. #13
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,577
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    300 times
    Quote Originally Posted by kathythorson View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by MrsBaker View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by kathythorson View Post
    I understand what your question is though. How do you save what you have done from one computer and then continue on to your laptop with the changes you have made? Is that what you mean?
    Yes! I'm afraid that if I import/export from each system, it'll be confusing and I'll risk lost edits or multiple copies of the same images.
    This is the reason I only edit off of my main desktop and then just use my laptop for messing around. Plus you will never have consistant color if you go back and forth.
    if both monitors are calibrated and verified it could be pretty accurate.

  14. #14
    I am Big, I am Mike Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    33,206
    My Gallery
    (111)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1571 times
    Lightroom isn't set up well for a network. As others are saying, the best solution seems to be using a portable drive and just taking it from one computer to the next.

    That being said, once you have loaded the catalog and generated the previews...many of the things you can do in LR, don't require you to actually have the image files on hand. In LR, they will still appear to be there, but with a question mark beside them, telling you that the link to the original files is broken.

    I'll always defer to Matt K. for LR advice.
    The Easiest Way to Share Lightroom Catalogs with Different Computers Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Killer Tips Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Killer Tips

  15. #15
    Chief Free Electron Relocator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    14,688
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    4502 times
    I use the desktop for all my heavy lifting. The laptop, if used for editing at all, is for simple cloning, cropping, resizing, ect.
    I see dead pixels!
    Go forth and actuate!



    Lens Across America, ROUND 3!!!!


 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Organization and workflow in Lightroom on 2 computers ideas?
    By jim_thomsen in forum Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-05-2012, 01:27 PM
  2. Using LR3 and LR4 on 2 computers
    By onelove in forum Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2012, 07:00 AM
  3. Computers
    By ArizonaSun in forum Off Topic Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 07:38 PM
  4. computers
    By Emerana in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-04-2008, 04:15 PM
  5. Computers and Cameras
    By his4ever in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2007, 11:09 PM

Search tags for this page

adobe lightroom 5 license multiple computers

,
can i install lightroom on two computers
,
how can i share my lightroom catalog with someone
,

how many computers can i install lightroom 5 on

,
lightroom 5 license how many computers
,
lightroom 5 multiple computers
,

synchronize lightroom between computers

,

syncing lightroom between two computers

,
using lightroom 5 on 2 computers
,
using lightroom form 2 computers
Click on a term to search for related topics.