Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times

    Wireless Remote not working for my Nikon D3100

    i own a new nikon D3100 and wanted to have a wireless remote. i bought the Pixel RW-221 wireless remote from eBay ( RW-221 Wireless Shutter Remote for Nikon D7000 D3100 | eBay ).
    however, when i hook it up, it don't work! the remote and the receiver are both on the same channel and they both light up green when i push 1/2 ways down on the shutter button on the remote, and when i press fully down, both flash red which indicated a photo should have been taken. but this doesn't happen, the camera doesn't even focus! is there some kind of setting that i should have my camera on? i even contacted nikon and they said the 3100 doesn't support wireless and that i should have a MC-DC2, but the link i provided above says it should! help please!



  2. #2
    Chief Free Electron Relocator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    14,697
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    4504 times
    Why should Nikon provide support for a product that isn't even theirs?
    I see dead pixels!
    Go forth and actuate!



    Lens Across America, ROUND 3!!!!


  3. #3
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times
    i don't know?
    im new to this and i only asked a question.

  4. #4
    Chief Free Electron Relocator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    14,697
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    4504 times
    If you read the Nikon manual, I'll bet there something to this effect:

    "Use Only Nikon Brand Electronic Accessories
    Nikon digital single-lens reflex cameras are designed to the highest standards and include complex electronic circuitry. Only Nikon brand electronic accessories (including lenses, battery chargers, batteries, AC adapters, and flash accessories) certified by Nikon specifically for use with this Nikon digital single-lens reflex camera are engineered and proven to operate within the operational and safety requirements of this electronic circuitry."

    It's legalese for "Don't use anything unless we make it. If you do, you can mess up your gear and we aren't responsible."
    I see dead pixels!
    Go forth and actuate!



    Lens Across America, ROUND 3!!!!


  5. #5
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    N. California
    Posts
    1,448
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    243 times
    Does the company that makes the remote have some sort of support web site or phone number?
    -Brian

    Camera Lenses Flashes Favorite Light Mods: Current challenges:
    Nikon D7000 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 DX VR
    55-200mm f/4-5.6 DX VR IF ED
    50mm f/1.4D
    SB-600
    SB-910
    Rogue FlashBender
    Shoot-through umbrella
    Softbox
    Posing and engaging with subjects
    Lighting styles and techniques
    Post-production techniques
    Amateurs practice until they get it right.
    Professionals practice until they can't get it wrong.

  6. #6
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times
    no, i ordered it from ebay and the instructions came in chinese, which is why im in the mess.

  7. #7
    No longer a newbie, moving up!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    St. John's
    Posts
    72
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    2 times
    @ 480sparky - are you suggesting that nobody ever should use third party electronics? I guess I should throw my Tamron away...

  8. #8
    Chief Free Electron Relocator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    14,697
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    4504 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Harris View Post
    @ 480sparky - are you suggesting that nobody ever should use third party electronics? I guess I should throw my Tamron away...

    Not at all. Nikon's already done that.

    My point is.... Nikon (or Canon or Olympus or Sony or Pentax or Leica.....) has nothing to do with non-OEM stuff. Just because some Chinese factory says it's compatible with a given camera does not require the camera company to figure out why it doesn't work. Look at the tires on a new vehicle..... they're warranteed by the tire manufacturer, NOT the car maker.
    I see dead pixels!
    Go forth and actuate!



    Lens Across America, ROUND 3!!!!


  9. #9
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times
    this still isn't answering my question.
    this should work because the device asks like a wireless transmitter... did you even look at it ? and just because its not made by the company doesn't mean that it shouldn't work.

  10. #10
    Chief Free Electron Relocator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    14,697
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    4504 times
    I looked at an ebay listing for a non-OEM accessory. That doesn't tell me much. Just because it says it works doesn't mean it will. I would suggest contacting the manufacturer of the unit.

    But I wouldn't hold my breath.
    I see dead pixels!
    Go forth and actuate!



    Lens Across America, ROUND 3!!!!


  11. #11
    No longer a newbie, moving up!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Toledo, OH
    Posts
    39
    My Gallery
    (3)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    They have a return policy of one year on the unit, contact the seller, tell him your plight and see what they say. Most times since they are in China, they will just send you a new unit...not saying this will, but that has been my experience working with Chinese and Korean sellers in the past.

    good luck man.


    next time search around....here is the OEM one at Amazon

    Amazon.com: Nikon ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control for Nikon P7000, D3000, D40, D40x, D50, D5000, D60, D70, D7000, D70s, D80 & D90 Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo

    here is one listed here (old thread though)
    Nikon D3100 D90 D7000 Wireless Remote Shutter N3 MC-DC2
    In the end, it's not going to matter how many breaths you took, but how many moments took your breath away

    - shing xiong

  12. #12
    No longer a newbie, moving up!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    St. John's
    Posts
    72
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by hammondfra View Post
    next time search around....here is the OEM one at Amazon
    That one isn't compatible with her 3100

  13. #13
    No longer a newbie, moving up!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Toledo, OH
    Posts
    39
    My Gallery
    (3)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    yeah, I just saw that...sorry for that one...

    they have this...but honestly I would just shop around or buy the wired one

    Amazon.com: Bower Wireless Remote Shutter Controller + Accessory Kit for Nikon D90, D5000 & D3100 Digital SLR Cameras: Electronics
    In the end, it's not going to matter how many breaths you took, but how many moments took your breath away

    - shing xiong

  14. #14
    itf
    itf is offline
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    128
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    3 times
    The Nikon D3100 doesn't have the infrared sensor in the camera, so that is why it doesn't support the wireless remote. The Nikon one won't even work with it. How is your dslr supposed to receive a signal if it doesn't have a receiver to receive it? You would need a wired one. Either the MC-DC2 or a third party will work.

  15. #15
    No longer a newbie, moving up!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    St. John's
    Posts
    72
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    2 times
    @ ift - what she has bought comes in two parts. One - the transmitter. Two - the receiver which plugs into the the camera where a wired shutter release would normally plug into, making it "wireless".

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How to use remote in Nikon D3100??
    By edpau in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-05-2012, 02:39 AM
  2. Wireless Remote - Nikon
    By CNCO in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-26-2010, 11:32 AM

Search tags for this page

digipower nikon dslr wireless remote
,
digipower remote for nikon
,
digipower remote for nikon d3100
,
digipower wireless remote for nikon
,
gow do uuse a wireless remote for a nikon d3100
,
how to make remote lenses that work with nikon d3000
,
how to use rocket fish wireless remote for nikon d3100
,

nikon d3100 remote

,

nikon d3100 remote control

,
nikon digipower wireless remote dont work with d3100
Click on a term to search for related topics.