Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Posts
    218
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    15 times

    U1 & U2 user settings?

    My D7000 has two user settings (U1 & U2) which are used for storing or saving a pre-configured set of instructions that can be called upon by simply rotating the mode dial. That part I understand, what is baffling is when would one use them? Excluding shooting into a photo light tent, where would one need to duplicate ones settings?

    If you are using these, could you please tell me what instructions have you saved and for what application it is to be used.
    Last edited by KmH; 04-29-2012 at 03:11 PM. Reason: No need to shout (Size 3/Bold)



  2. #2
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1,408
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    32 times
    On my compact camera I use User1 as the monochrome setting and User2 with the macro focus engaged.

  3. #3
    Chief Free Electron Relocator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    15,709
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    5152 times
    U1 has everything set to manual. Manual exposure, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, ISO.........

    U2 is basically the same as P, except for custom white balance.


    U2 is for 'snapshots'. U1 is for when I give a damn.
    I own stock in FotoMat.
    Go forth and actuate!


    Lens Across America, ROUND 3!!!!


  4. #4
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Posts
    218
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    15 times
    Sparky, Why would you have to set all manual settings U1? I'm guessing you use manual 90% of the time, wouldn't your camera be set to manual anyways?

  5. #5
    Chief Free Electron Relocator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    15,709
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    5152 times
    Quote Originally Posted by markj View Post
    Sparky, Why would you have to set all manual settings U1? I'm guessing you use manual 90% of the time, wouldn't your camera be set to manual anyways?
    "M" may not always mean manual WB or ISO. Programming it in U1 keeps me from having to set it that way.
    I own stock in FotoMat.
    Go forth and actuate!


    Lens Across America, ROUND 3!!!!


  6. #6
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    6,617
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    1143 times
    Use them for where ever you might shoot a lot and the lighting doesn't change.
    I've reached the age where my brain went from "You probably shouldn't say that" to "What the hell, let's see what happens."

    Amateurs worry about equipment, professionals worry about time, masters worry about light.


    "Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery. Today?
    Today is a gift. That is why we call it the present."

    Master Wugui from Kung Fu Panda

  7. #7
    has a hat around here somewhere Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK - England
    Posts
    20,543
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    2913 times
    I'm canon side, but we've similar features on some of our bodies as well. Personally I use them for a variety of different situations and how you use them will depend somewhat on the complexity of the camera and the custom options present - as well as your typical shooting subjects.

    For example I have mine setup to:
    Custom 1 - my macro mode - FPS is set to 4 instead of 8 (flash can't keep up with 8 in a burst) - mode is manual - ISO 200 - 1/200sec - f13 are the default starting settings.

    Custom 2 - wildlife grabshot - FPS 8 - ISO 400 - 1/400sec - and I'd have to check the aperture. Plus I've fiddled with some of the AF options to move them outside of their default values to get best performance


    In general just set them to suitable fast setting for when you want to shoot. If you find you don't change much/anything of the background settings or custom options then they will probably be of lesser use for you. If, however, you are often using lots of custom settings for key shoots then you can use the custom modes to at least let you start a shoot without having to re-set all the values and variables each time.
    Remember you can change the values in the custom mode at any point so you are not locked into shooting them unless you then save them as the new defaults.
    How to get critique on your photography!


    The Mentor Scheme mentoring on TPF all are welcome to read and apply

    Best photos on the net!
    well at least I like to think so - sometimes

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Recent site changes - user settings have vanished!
    By Overread in forum Feedback and Suggestions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 07:35 PM
  2. hello new nikon user old olympus user
    By infamousjwills in forum Welcomes and Introductions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 09:59 PM
  3. Can a mac user help me please!
    By photographyfanatic in forum Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 11:19 PM
  4. Guide for aperature settings, ISO settings, etc..??
    By brookie418 in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 06:17 PM
  5. Posting on User Gallery? Joining user group?
    By joseph in forum Feedback and Suggestions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 09:32 AM

Search tags for this page

nikon d7000 u1 and u2 settings
,
nikon d7000 u1 u2 settings
,

nikon u1 and u2 modes

,

nikon u1 u2 mode

,
u1 and u2 camera settings
,
u1 and u2 settings for nikon d7000
,

what is u1 and u2 modes

,
what is u1or u2 for nikon mode
Click on a term to search for related topics.