Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    156
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times

    Why does my computer want to format my sd card?

    I have a Kingston 2GB SD card and it works fine in my D80 and my laptop reads pictures off it fine. But when I put it in my desktop, it complains that I need to format it before I can use it. Has anyone experienced this before? What should I do?

    I thought about going ahead and formatting it, but does it matter which file system I choose? What about allocation size? Why does this computer have a problem with it when the camera and laptop don't?
    I appreciate honest C&C on my photos. If honest = harsh, let me have it. I can take it.



  2. #2
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    526
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    2 times
    If it works in your D80 and your laptop there is nothing wrong with the card, the problem is more likely to be with your desktop. There is a real possibility that if you format it in the desktop it will not work at all.

    As for what is wrong, that is very hard to say. Files on PCs become corrupt, I have developed the habit of formatting and reloading the software on all my computers annually, that avoids a lot of problems like this.

    Primarily, I'm a snapshooter, occasionally I will accidentally get a good photograph.

    Nikon D40, Nikon 35mm f1.8, Nikon 18-55mm, Quantaray 70-300mm (Tamron AF 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di LD rebadged by Ritz/Wolf), - all stolen in a burglary.

    Now - Nikon D3100, Nikon 18-55 VR, Nikon 55-200 VR, SB-400

    Also currently using:
    Kodak Pony 135



  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,860
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    8 times
    Don't format it with your computer unless it won't work otherwise.. One tip-any seasoned digital photographer formats their card with their camera before every shoot....

  4. #4
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    156
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    I just formatted the card in my camera and took a test shot. My desktop still tells me it needs to format it.
    I appreciate honest C&C on my photos. If honest = harsh, let me have it. I can take it.

  5. #5
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,655
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    459 times
    What Operating System is being used ?
    <Dennis>

    Sony Alpha SLT-A57/Minolta Maxxum 9000/Olympus XA/Minolta Autocord/Canon P/Sony NEX-3
    "Shikata ga nai"
    "If you donít know where you are going, every road will get you nowhere.Ē - Henry Kissinger

    My Repair Blog http://oldcam.wordpress.com/

  6. #6
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    156
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dxqcanada View Post
    What Operating System is being used ?
    Vista Home Premium
    I appreciate honest C&C on my photos. If honest = harsh, let me have it. I can take it.

  7. #7
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,655
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    459 times
    I had the same problem with Vista.

    I had an SD card that was formatted FAT32 on a Windows XP system. When I placed it in my Windows Vista system it complained that the card required formating.

    I did format it in Vista as FAT32, and now both systems accept it.

    Your problem may be more complicated as I am not sure if your Digital Camera will like it ... though you should give it a try.
    <Dennis>

    Sony Alpha SLT-A57/Minolta Maxxum 9000/Olympus XA/Minolta Autocord/Canon P/Sony NEX-3
    "Shikata ga nai"
    "If you donít know where you are going, every road will get you nowhere.Ē - Henry Kissinger

    My Repair Blog http://oldcam.wordpress.com/

  8. #8
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    East TN
    Posts
    173
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    as long as there are no photos at risk... format it on the desktop and if it doesn't work in the camera, just format it again (in camera). you don't have anything to lose, so give it a shot.

  9. #9
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    156
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Should I format FAT32 like dxqcanada suggests?
    I appreciate honest C&C on my photos. If honest = harsh, let me have it. I can take it.

  10. #10
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    temecula, ca
    Posts
    528
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    i've actually been having the same problem with my CF card. i'm running vista home premium 64 bit though

  11. #11
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Durham, UK
    Posts
    1,918
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1 times
    I'd stick to formatting in camera, its probably some vista bug not ironed out by MS, as long as you can download your files from the drive/card there should be no problems. H

  12. #12
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    156
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Flash Harry View Post
    I'd stick to formatting in camera, its probably some vista bug not ironed out by MS, as long as you can download your files from the drive/card there should be no problems. H
    That's just it, I can't get the files off the card and onto my desktop computer. Granted, I can copy them from my laptop, but that's a hassle to have to do that every time. The weird thing is that there never used to be a problem with this card and this computer.
    I appreciate honest C&C on my photos. If honest = harsh, let me have it. I can take it.

  13. #13
    TPF Junkie!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,655
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    459 times
    Quote Originally Posted by RockDawg View Post
    Should I format FAT32 like dxqcanada suggests?
    Yes.
    Full format (not quick), FAT32 with default Allocation size.
    <Dennis>

    Sony Alpha SLT-A57/Minolta Maxxum 9000/Olympus XA/Minolta Autocord/Canon P/Sony NEX-3
    "Shikata ga nai"
    "If you donít know where you are going, every road will get you nowhere.Ē - Henry Kissinger

    My Repair Blog http://oldcam.wordpress.com/

  14. #14
    Been spending a lot of time on here!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    119
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times
    The weird thing is that there never used to be a problem with this card and this computer.

    What changed on your computer just before this started happening? A new program added, a security update, a new website visited that may have attached spyware? Something had to change to suddenly cause the conflict.
    Character is what you do when no one is looking.
    Come visit the world as I see it, FromtheBackofaHorse

  15. #15
    Jedi Bunnywabbit Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13,769
    My Gallery
    (22)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    3057 times
    Quote Originally Posted by stsinner View Post
    Don't format it with your computer unless it won't work otherwise.. One tip-any seasoned digital photographer formats their card with their camera before every shoot....
    Really? I've never done this in my life. Generally speaking I would usually tell people not to format things repeatedly... why put the additional stress on the card if you don't need to, and what happens if the formatting goes awry and makes the card permanently or temporarily unusable?

    Does anyone else do this?
    The Return of the TPF Photo Challenge!

    Me on Google+ (I fixed this... it was broken before. Thanks Jaemie!)

    Yeah, I finally started doing the twitter thing... @russochr.

    Manaheim's Guide to Night Photography

    "Rabbit is good, Rabbit is wise..."



 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can I put an image back on my camera card from my computer?
    By EmilyD1970 in forum Digital Discussion & Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 08:59 AM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-23-2008, 06:02 PM
  3. Unloading Memory Card Without Computer?
    By qwerte37 in forum Digital Discussion & Q&A
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 08:04 PM
  4. Video/Graphics Card for Computer
    By airgunr in forum Photography Equipment & Products
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 11:48 AM
  5. Xd Card/Card Reader/Computer
    By russellsnr in forum Beyond the Basics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-01-2004, 07:35 AM

Search tags for this page

computer wants to format my sd card
,

computer wants to format sd card

,
does the volume in your compute have something to do with readina a sd card?
,
microsd wants to be formatted
,
sd card wants to be formatted
,
sd card wants to format
,
sd card wont work on sony pc says reformatting
,
why do i have to format my sd card
Click on a term to search for related topics.