Been spending a lot of time on here!
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times

580EX on camera with 420EX as slave. Help?

Hi all- I'm fairly new to off camera flash. I usually just bring my cheap little 420EX along and bounce it around when I need extra light. However, I am interested in purchasing the 580EX (original or II, haven't decided yet) so that I am able to move the 420EX off camera. Since the 580EX works as the master unit, do I still need any type of transmitter/receiver system, or will the manual with the 580EX tell me how to work the two flashes together?

I currently have a Vivitar 285HV that I use off camera with a cheap-o transmitter/receiver system that I got on ebay for like $30. I don't like it, which is why I am interested in working with the Canon Speedlites instead.

I am Big, I am Mike Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

My Gallery
    (111)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1579 times
    You won't need anything else to fire (& control) the slave (420) with the master (580).

There are pros and cons to this system though.

Firstly, the pros are that you get E-TTL metering for your slave flash or flashes. So just like you have auto flash metering when the flash is on the camera, you can have that from the remote slave flash. Pretty cool. You can even change the ratio of the remote flash, right from the mater unit.

On the down side, this system uses light pulses for communication. That means that when outdoors, you pretty much need line of site between master and slave. You can sometimes get away without line of site when indoors, but only when there are enough surfaces for the light to bounce around. Also, the brighter the light you are in, the worse the connection will be. So out in the sun, this system sucks.