Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    I spend too much of my life on TPF!
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    4 times

what would you tell this person?

I am a professional pianist. As you all know, artists whether they are painters, photographers, or musicians, charge for more than just their time.

For private lessons I charge $50 an hour, an for accompaniment I charge $40 an hour for rehearsals. To the common folk that could seem like a lot, but you are paying for my 18 years of experience and thousands upon thousands of hours of hard grueling work.

In my college, I have been doing random portrait sessions for fellow students for several months now. My fees are really affordable and a fraction of the fee for the same thing from a generic photographer.

Most people are surprised i charge that low because they know how much these things cost. But someone talked to me to from school. Not even a friend, but an acquaintance. Basically she is acting like im charging fortune, and is trying to haggle me down to like 30%-40% of my original fee.

How would you explain to someone like this what goes in to a final fee for photography sessions? And help them explain the concept that i mentioned earlier with piano etc.
    My Gear:
    Nikon D90
    Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D---Nikkor 18-55mm VR f/3.5-5.4----Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8----Sekonic L-358

My Website:
    www.mkofmanphoto.com

Banned
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    1 times
    I wouldn't. I would say that they should do some research to understand the great deal you are already giving them. If they still want to haggle, move on. Tell them that haggling is for flea markets and craigslist and to take a hike.

TPF Junkie!
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    38 times