Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times

    D3100 Problem with Timer Mode

    So I just got my d3100 and realize that my camera doesn't properly switch to timer mode. It sees it as continuous modes instead and shoots like it's in continuous mode. So essentially I have TWO continuous modes on this camera instead of the basic four single, continuous, timer, and quiet shutter release.

    I read the manual thinking maybe I'm doing something wrong but realize it's really THAT simple--- switch to timer mode on the release-mode selector then shoot. Have anyone else heard of this problem? I figure I ask here before calling Nikon. Am I just a newb doing it wrong? I've googled with no luck.

    I just found out that Nikon just released a firmware update for this cam. I was hoping maybe this will solve the problem but before I do anything I figure I'd ask around first.

    (Sorry, I posted in the other thread. I figure I might get more responses if I made a new thread.)



  2. #2
    KmH
    KmH is online now
    Helping photographers learn to fish
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33,576
    My Gallery
    (1)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    3921 times
    Did you set the self-timer delay in the menus?
    . . . . . . Keith . . . . . . .How Do I Use My Digital SLR?...
    Effort equals results - Roger Penske

  3. #3
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by KmH View Post
    Did you set the self-timer delay in the menus?
    I'm pretty sure I didn't. I left everything as default unless that is the default option. I will have to check the camera when I go home during lunch to see.

    I also want to mention that if I move the release-mode selector back and forth a couple of times, it does switch correctly. This was while I was in guide mode but even then it still reads it as continuous mode most of the time. The icon doesn't show that it's in timer mode either, even though it's selected.

  4. #4
    KmH
    KmH is online now
    Helping photographers learn to fish
    TPF Supporter

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    33,576
    My Gallery
    (1)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    3921 times
    Then it needs to be repaired.
    . . . . . . Keith . . . . . . .How Do I Use My Digital SLR?...
    Effort equals results - Roger Penske

  5. #5
    TPF Noob!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4
    My Gallery
    (0)
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by KmH View Post
    Then it needs to be repaired.
    I was realllllllly hoping this wasn't the case. Thanks for your help!

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. problem with nikon d3100?
    By piccer in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 12-11-2011, 08:45 AM
  2. Problem with d3100 need help
    By Lee56 in forum Digital Discussion & Q&A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-18-2010, 07:13 PM
  3. New camera confusion. Manual mode, AV mode?
    By MarcGonsalves in forum Photography Beginners' Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-31-2010, 12:37 PM
  4. 40D burst mode problem??
    By Phazan in forum Digital Discussion & Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-16-2008, 08:34 PM

Search tags for this page

how do u set a d3100 nikon on timmer delay

,
how self timer on nikon d3100 manual
,

how to get the time setting off of a nikon 3100

,

how to use timer on nikon d3100

,
nikon d3100 how to take continuous pictures self timer
,

nikon d3100 timer set

,

nikon d3100 turn off timer

,
shut off 10 second delay on nikon d3100
Click on a term to search for related topics.