Thread: Underwater Photography?

TPF Noob!
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times

Underwater Photography?

So, I'm new to photography and I have a question about underwater photography. Do I need a special underwater camera, or is there a special casing I could use for my DSLR?

I have a canon 1100D, please recommend me the best and most affordable cases. Thank you!

TPF Junkie!
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1935 times
    Quote Originally Posted by DuneRose View Post
    So, I'm new to photography and I have a question about underwater photography. Do I need a special underwater camera, or is there a special casing I could use for my DSLR?

I have a canon 1100D, please recommend me the best and most affordable cases. Thank you!
    "Best" and "most affordable" do not go together, especially when it comes to underwater camera housings for DSLRs.

Several years ago, when I was researching it because I was diving every weekend, Ikelite was THE brand of housing everyone who had real experience recommended. Here's a link to their housing for the 1100D: Underwater Housing for Canon Digital SLR Camera

Suggested retail price for that housing: $1400.00. Amazon's got it for $1299.95 though: Amazon.com: Ikelite Underwater Camera Housing for Canon EOS Rebel T3 / 1100D Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo

Depending on how deep you plan to go, you might be able to get away with one of the cheap plastic bag type camera housings. I just don't know if I could really fully put my trust in one, personally.
    Your honest C&C is always welcome and appreciated. For those with such interests: My Gear
    "Photography's never been merely about photographing what you could see; it's always been about photographing what you wanted to see." ~ Ctein
    Life is like photography... FOCUS on what's important, CAPTURE the good times, DEVELOP from the negatives, and if things don't work out, TAKE ANOTHER SHOT!!!