Thread: Totally New

TPF Noob!
    My Gallery
    (0)
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Liked
    0 times

Totally New

Hello. Name is Kevin. I am new to the forum and a typical point and shoot "photographer". I am looking to learn more about photography. I have a friend who is a professional and another who is a professional video guy (he does all video aspects) I am currently a student. I was a plumber before that and an emt before that. married with 3 beautiful kids. I am interested in buying another digital camera that gives me more control. I was looking at some online and in some camera shops around here. The shops seem to be trying to get me into the 700+ range for like a nikon d40x I think it was. 10 mp and no lens. any recommendations. It seems to me I should be able to get something a little less expensive as I am shooting with a regular sony 5mp 3x optical zoom right now. Hope to get to know some of you and learn a lot.

Kev in Phx

I am Big, I am Mike Site Moderator
    TPF Supporter

My Gallery
    (111)
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Liked
    1679 times
    Welcome to the forum.

A lot of 'point & shooters' have yet to realize that there is a line that divides digital cameras. 95% of them have tiny little sensors (the digital film, if you will). Tiny sensors can give you decent results in good conditions but struggle in poor lighting etc. It's not a matter of mega pixels, even some 8 mega pixel cameras have tiny sensors...while some 6 mega pixels cameras have larger sensors and produce better results.

The cameras with larger sensors are, for the most part, digital SLR cameras (like the D40x). These do tend to be more expensive (starting around $500-$600)...but I think they are 10 times better than a camera that costs $400-$500).

There are many other benefits. For example, DSLR cameras are often much faster in terms of shooting speed and shutter lag. Many 'digi-cams' take too long to snap the photo after you press the button.