1 HR Extended Family Session-# edited images/fee

Epiphany

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a amature photographer. I still have a lot to learn and so much to ask the pros!!

Recently, I have had family and friends ask me to photograph different events and family photos for them. They have offered to pay me. I have a hard time accepting money or knowing an appropriate fee. I know my photos aren't professional quality or the way I dream of them looking one day. Though I am satisfied with my product.

The most recent session I did was an extended family session for my sister-in-laws parents, kids and grand kids. We have agreed on $100 for an hour session. I did drive a total of 80 minutes to their home where the pictures were taken. How many images do you typically edit per session? I have been editing the best images from the session. I usually include the unedited images as well on the disk I give. However, on this session it was a bright, sunny, hot day. With that being said I have a fair amount of hot spots on faces in photos and don't necessarily want to share those. This session was a challenge for me! They had specifics as to where they wanted pictures taken. I was competing with bright sun and sun dapples through trees. Would it be acceptable to only give them the best edited images? I am about half way through the images and have edited 17 so far. I am figuring I will have around 25-30 edited images when done. Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

You NEVER, EVER, EVER give out "un-edited" or any other images that don't measure up. If it's not 'A' list, it goes into the bit bucket. Full stop.