doobs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I've recently purchased a Holga 120N and I'm curious about the development of 120 film. I am very familiar with 35mm development but this is my first time using any other format of film. I am guessing much of it is the same, set aside the time that different chemicals are in the tank. The local darkroom I go to has normal b+w chemicals (I'm guessing) and I wasn't sure if I needed a different kind. I am using Ilford FP-4 125. I often use this film in 35 as well. I was also curious about cross processing (I did a little reading on the internet) and if this can be done with black and white film. Also, what am I to do with the paper backing?

A few off topic questions that somewhat fit here:
- Holgas are known for their light leaks, however, I do not want my film to become extremely over taken with the leaks. I have held the camera up to the light in search of imperfections, and I have not seen any. I fear, however, that in between the back cover and the camera body. I have been told to cover it with duct/electrical/Gaffers tape. Will this suffice? Or do I need to worry at all?

- Also, does anyone have any suggestions on color film to use in the Holga that will produce a rich, saturated color. Also, do drug stores, such as Longs, develop 120 format film? I have no idea how to develop color. If not, I'm sure I can just take it to the people that work at the darkroom.

Thanks for the help :thumbup:
- Seabass

developing 120 film (black and white) is no different , except for the times. You can use the same chemicals your using for your 35mm film.

You should just practice loading it in the dark on the proper reel to get the feel. Buy some outdated film for testing purposes.
remove the paper backing and just throw it away.

you cannot cross process black and white, that is a color experience.