18% Gray Card - Maybe a dumb question

MohaimenK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
but I'll ask anyway (since I'm still a noob on it).

Is it a goodd idea to keep a copy of 18% gray card on your camera so incase you need to use it, just use that image to set the custom white balance? Or do you always have to hold the gray card in the environment you are on to get the correct lighting?

The whole point of a gray card is so you can set your WB and exposure for the ambient light. Keeping a copy of a gray card image in your CF card will be of no use since it will reflect the ambient lighting from the situation in which it was shot.

The whole point of a gray card is so you can set your WB and exposure for the ambient light. Keeping a copy of a gray card image in your CF card will be of no use since it will reflect the ambient lighting from the situation in which it was shot.

I see! I wasn't sure if it was the same with a white card vs a gray card. Thanks for the quick reply! :thumbup:

Generally, if I am shooting landscape, should I use a gray card or that's only for shotting portrait or a certain subject?

noob here and not wanting to hijack this thread but i think it will help others like me.... what is a gray & white card for? im sure that someone will post "search you noob" and all but just a simple answer would be just as easy.

noob here and not wanting to hijack this thread but i think it will help others like me.... what is a gray & white card for? im sure that someone will post "search you noob" and all but just a simple answer would be just as easy.

So you get more accurate white balance in your pictures. Ever took photos where the colors are way orr or your white t-shirt looks more gray?
Especially if you're indoor where the light is not as bright. As far as the difference, I THINK (not 100% sure) but gray will give you a better balance? But someone else can chime on that.