D750
f/2.8
ISO 100
1/200 Sec.
24 - 70 mm - f/2.8G
70 mm

Rapid Westcott Kit 26" Octa Softbox OCF Right SB 700

(Processed In LR & Silver Efex Pro2)

This is my first attempt to use a softbox.

20180207-untitled-6-Edit-Edit-Edit.jpg

“Untitled Colour Portrait…”

D750
f/5.6
ISO 100
1/200 Sec.
24 - 70 mm - f/2.8G
70 mm

Rapid Westcott Kit 26" Octa Softbox OCF Right SB 700

(Processed In LR & Color Efex Pro 4)

This is my second attempt to use a softbox.

20180207-untitled-11-Edit-Edit-Edit.jpg

Thanks For Looking Any Comments/Criticism Will Be Appreciated.

Cheers,

Enezdez

I am surprised nobody has responded yet. You did a fairly decent job lighting the face in the first one, but the posing is not the best for his facial structure. The background is a little busy too, but you know not that bad!

I think you're going to get the hang of things pretty quickly.

Last edited:
I...the posing is not the best for his facial structure...
This is, IMO, the key point. Notice how different he looks between the two in terms of his neck; in #1 he seems to have no neck at all. This gives him an odd, elf-like appearance. I think you should try and reshoot this; his expression, the lighting and your conversion work very well; just a bit more work needed on the pose and this would be a great character portrait.

I am surprised nobody has responded yet. You did a fairly decent job leading the face in the first one, but the posing is not the best for his facial structure. The background is a little busy too, but you know not that bad!

I think you're going to get the hang of things pretty quickly.

I...the posing is not the best for his facial structure...