2 Newbie questions

Ronin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm a total newbie literally: I don't even own a camera yet but for a long while I've been interested in photography and finally my funds allow me to take the step from dreaming to doing. So, here are the questions:

What's an ok basic digital camera that fits a student budget? Say, $100-$150. My dad's camera has a moveable screen (don't know what they're really called) and it makes some shots easier but it's not a must. I just need something that's good enough to get me aquianted with the art of photography.

Second, can you recommend any good books on the subject for beginners? I'm especially interested in portraits, glamour shots etc. Shooting people, in other words. Any particular books on that subject?

That's all for now.

-Chris

I'm afraid you probably won't find much of a digital camera for that price range unless you go with a point & shoot from ebay. However, you would be able to find a Pentax ME Super 35mm film camera in that price range on ebay in excellent condition. It's a wonderful camera to learn from, of course, you don't get instant results. If your determined to get a digital camera, I would wait until you have maybe 300 or so.

Okay, 35mm film. So what should I get?

And when I do get the cash which digital cameras would be worth looking at?

Any suggestions where to learn about photography? Sure, you learn by doing but if there's no critique I can't learn what NOT to do...

markc said:
I don't want to be rude, but both questions come up a lot. I think you'll find a lot of answers looking through older threads and using the search feature.

I'm afraid I have nothing to add to this thread, but I wanted to give 'props' to markc for such a polite, thoughtful way of putting that. I'm on so many different kinds of forums on the net, from bikes to DJ'ing (to photography), and this is normally written as a flame response.