2 Questions...

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by ajmall, May 24, 2004.

1. ajmall

ajmall TPF Noob!

Compared with the UK, are cameras and equipment cheaper in Tokyo?

and my current dilemma- film scanner (around £500) or Dig SLR (closer to £1000)???? i'm a student and slowly becoming a freelance photographer.

thanks

2. Skittles

Skittles TPF Noob!

I can't help you with the first question, but maybe I can help with the second. Not so much a recommendation, though, as information to help you make your decision.

I currently use slide film for all of my photos, then scan them with a film scanner. Using an obsolete Nikon LS-1000 film scanner and Silverfast SE scanning software, I can archive my slides in much higher resolutions than can be achieved with any digital camera now available. The scanner is rated for 2700 dpi, and the Silverfast software can actually extend that to 5400 dpi. In most cases, I am scanning a bit more than the entire slide image, then cropping down to 3600x2400 pixels. However, I could double that using the software. When my budget allows, I will be getting a Konica-Minolta Dimage Scan Elite 5400, (as well as the Silverfast AI software for this model,) which can scan up to 5400 dpi without third party software.

I own a Canon EOS film camera, and expect to add a Canon digital camera to my tools because of lens interchangability, so I am familiar with the specs on the digital cameras from Canon.

The Canon 1Ds, professional Digital SLR, is rated for 11.1 MegaPixels. Costing between $7,000.00-8,000.00 USD for just the body, the maximum image size is 2704x4064 pixels. The Canon 1D Mark II, also a professional DSLR, is rated for 8.2 MegaPixels and has a maximum image size of 2336x3504 pixels. The 1D Mark II runs $3,100.00 to $4500.00 USD for the camera body.

The lower end Canon Rebel DSLR camera body is closer to $1,000.00 USD, and has a maximum image size of 2048x3072.