24-70 f2.8?

DCerezo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey fellas, I'm looking for a Nikkor lens that is on pretty equal par with the new 24-70 2.8... I want to use the lens to shoot events and live performance. Any suggestions besides the 24-85 f/2.8-4? Any help would be great. It's obvious I don't have the budget for a $1,000 lens so let's keep that in mind. I just want best bang for my buck, also I will be doing jobs with this lens so It has to be good. Just wondering if I missed anything in my searches.

I've been looking myself. I use primes in this range. But from what it looks like, Tamron comes the closest to the Nikon, but it's $1300.
Sigma makes a 24-70mm but the reviews trash it. And there's a Tamron 28-75mm for around $500, but you are essentially getting what you pay for
in build quality. I have no first hand experience with any of these lenses however.

I've been looking myself. I use primes in this range. But from what it looks like, Tamron comes the closest to the Nikon, but it's $1300.
Sigma makes a 24-70mm but the reviews trash it. And there's a Tamron 28-75mm for around $500, but you are essentially getting what you pay for
in build quality. I have no first hand experience with any of these lenses however.

...your last sentence speaks loudest.I own the Sigma 24-70 2.8,and for the $350.00 I have into it (used),I'm not at all disappointed.When I decide it's limiting "my vision",I may step up to a Nikkor,and hopefully recoup the better part of my investment.I'm a bang/buck kind of guy,so I'll really need to see a night/day difference before I shell out 1-2 grand on a lens....

I have the Sigma 17-70, f/2.8 and love it. In my opinion it's an excellent lens.

I just feel like I can't show up to a shoot without Nikkor glass... If the customer knows just the littlest thing about cameras I'm gonna look like a chump (I feel anyway). Am I wrong about this?