3 questions

Avic7

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hiya everyone,

Thanks for reading this post. It is my first official post outside of my introduction. Since i am a newbie, pls forgive me if i step on any toes.

My first question is what is a raw? When i take a picture with my canon IXY 400 digital camera and transfer it into my computer, it is in jpeg format. I got confused reading some previous posts.

My second question is whether or not it is bad to constantly reformat the compactflash memory card instead of using the "delete all images" function. Does it ruin the memory or what?

My third question is related to my second question, earlier this weekend, i was bestman for my buddies wedding. I finished taking a picture, turned the camera off, went downstairs to get a drink, came back up and when i turned on the camera, it said, "memory card error" total image is ZERO.
What could have caused this memory card error? Is it to many reformats on the compactflash card? What is the best program i can use to recover those lost images? And will I be able to recover 100% of those lost images?

ok, sorry i know those are more than three questions. I look forward to hearing from you all.
Thank you
Avic7

First off, RAW is a file format that higher end cameras use. It's the 'raw' data from the sensor...not adjusted or optimized like a jpeg file. Different cameras have different raw formats and you need special software or plug-in to open the files.

As for you other questions...I just don't know.

I C thanks for clearing that up for me Big Mike.

I always thought you were better off if you format the card often...

With my kodak digital camera (a few years ago) - Every now and again it would tell you to format the card, and generally you would lose all the photos... So I figured - If you format it before every use - it is less likely to do that after you have taken photos...