300d flash intensity

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Corry, Apr 15, 2005.

  1. Corry

    Corry Flirtacious and Bodacious Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,169
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    North Central Illinois
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ok...my manual is MIA, and I would like to know if anyone knows if I can adjust the flash intensity on my 300D? If so...how?
     
  2. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
    Install the hack
    You will have flash exposure compensation
     
  3. raider

    raider TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    8
  4. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    There is no way without the hack. Sell it on Ebay for a few hundred and get an XT :p
     
  5. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    Except perhaps the Rizla technique?
     
  6. Corry

    Corry Flirtacious and Bodacious Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,169
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    North Central Illinois
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Alright, thanks...nope, not gonna hack it. I don't have the money to risk it if I break it somehow.
     
  7. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Oh come on Corry...hack that thing. You can reset the firmware any time.
     
  8. Corry

    Corry Flirtacious and Bodacious Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,169
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    North Central Illinois
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I don't understand any of it...I think I need a bit more re-assurance!
     
  9. santino

    santino TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Austria, heart in Poland -->
    arty did it :D
     
  10. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I don't' have the camera so I haven't read everything about it...but I have read quite a bit. Apparently, it's easy to do and it's easy to change back to the original firmware at any time. It's not physically changing anything...just the soft ware that runs the camera. I've read that it's actually a DOS based software.

    I've heard a lot of people who were concerned about the warrenty...well, if you do ever send it in, you can reset the firmware. Although, I've heard that people have sent in hacked cameras with no repercussions.

    Maybe take a short walk over to the zoo that is photo.net as read up on all the folks who have installed the hack.
     
  11. Corry

    Corry Flirtacious and Bodacious Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,169
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    North Central Illinois
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I get really confused with stuff like that...maybe I'll have my boyfriend look at the instructions on how to do it, and if he thinks he can, I'll do it. I'm REALLY bad with stuff like that though.
     
  12. pursuer

    pursuer TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It's actually pretty easy, Im sure you or he can handle it. I applied the hack to mine with no problems. It adds, or I should say unlocks some nice features. The 10D and the 300D have such similar hardware the developers used the code from the 10D for the 300D instead of rewritting it from scratch. The 300d is capable of many of the same things as the 10D but canon needed to give people an insentive to buy the more expensive 10D so they just disabled some of the features in the 300D. All the hack does is unlock these hidden features. canon released a firmware update themselves, which is probably the version that came with your camera, so you can download it and use it to restore the original if you want to. Updating firmware is nothing to be afraid of, just make sure you use a fully charged battery :)
     

Share This Page