30D LCD Image

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by rp1600, Mar 11, 2007.

  1. rp1600

    rp1600 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    FOrgive me if i'm a little off the mark here, but today took my 30D out for its first drive, doing portraits of my daughter. All looked fine with each shot and the image in the LCD looked great, even zoomed in to check focus and exposure.
    Was disappointed when I got home and started to work on them in PS. Seems that as each opened in Adobe RAW the appeared to be underexposed quite a bit, even though during the actual shoot they looked great on the LCD screen.

    Am i missing something here. Is there something being loss during hte Adobe RAW preview step.

    I'm stumped. Help.
    Thanks
    Ron
     
  2. Azuth

    Azuth TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney 'strailya
    The LCD is showing you what it expects the image to look like after conversion from raw, including some exposure compensation. Use the histogram. Also, something I've just learned, with digital you want to shoot at the top end of the histogram, not blowing out the highlights, but shooting so that the bulk of your data is more to the right than the left of your graph.

    A fantastic book just recommended to me is Real World Camera Raw by Bruce Fraser, that explains a lot of this stuff and why.
     
  3. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,822
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
  4. c_mac

    c_mac TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    one thing that i have noticed is that the Adobe Camera Raw like to "auto-expose" all my images and usually in doing so they become underexposed. not always, but since most of my pictures have a lot of "bight/light" objects in them it just averages everything out....

    just my .02
     
  5. Dave_D

    Dave_D TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Garden State
    If your camera has a brightness adjustment for the LCD, set it so it matches what you see on the monitor so you will be able to tell where your exposure is at a glance.
     

Share This Page