350D vs 30D... worth the upgrade? And some lens help!

Becky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys... I currently have a 350D which has served me very well... theres nothing wrong with it and its not that its not doing what I want it to perfectly well... I just fancy an upgrade as my photography gets a bit better....

I'd love the 5d but its just way out of budget and will be for a while since I'm a poor student.... the 30D seems like the logical step upwards? correct me if I'm wrong...

So is it worth the upgrade... any thoughts? :blushing:

While I'm posting... I currently am selling my 100-400mm L lens as I dont use it enough to justify what its worth. As an everyday lens I use a 28-105mm, which I feel I could maybe upgrade to a better every dayish lens... any suggestions around the £400 mark? I should get around £800 for my 100-400L, so aim to spend approx half on a 70-200mm which I'm likely to use a lot more, and the rest either on a 100mm macro, or on upgrading my everyday lens?... help!

I guess the question is what kind of photography you do. The next question is whether there is functionality that the 30D provides that you need. If these additional functions are minor, I would suggest spending your money on good lenses instead until you can afford a full-frame camera.

I stuck with my older D60 until 5D came out, and bought different lenses during that time. When I finally got the full-frame camera, it made all the difference in the world.

To be honest I shoot a bit of everything, from nature and wildlife to portrait and still life... really nothing in specific.

I won't be able to afford a full frame camera like the 5d for at least 3 years the way I see things at the minute unless I sell all my gear just to buy that, so it seemed smart to go for the next camera up from my own. If its not a wise decision maybe I should just stick with my 350D...? It just seems that it will be worthless soon as the prices are falling rapidly...