350D vs 450D Puzzle

ccronje

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to photography and very new to this forum, so please excuse me if this question is posted in the wrong place. I was wondering if anyone can help me explain this.

I just purchased a brand new Canon 450D and I noticed something tonight that has got me baffled. My wife has a 350D and I decided to take some comparitive photos to compare the 2 cameras. I took a photo of some flowers with the 450D and a 50mm f/1.8 lens, then I moved the lens to the 350D and took the exact same foto. Every time I focused on the exact same spot (one of the white flowers in the front), I stood in the exact same place etc.

To my surprise the photos that I took with the 350D was consistently much better than the ones I took with the 450D. If you look at the pink+white flower in the 2 samples below you can see what I mean..the 350D's photos has more detail and it's much sharper. The 450D photo seems almost out of focus. I tried various settings, but just could not get the same quality image with the 450D. The two photos below were taken in Program AE mode.

If anyone has any ideas on why there is such a difference between the 2 cameras it would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Chris

To better see the difference, the original photos with can be seen here:

350D Original
450D Original

350D
350D-small.jpg

F-Stop: f/1.8
Exposure Time: 1/200
ISO: 400

450D
450D-small.jpg

F-Stop: f/1.8
Exposure Time: 1/125
ISO: 400

Something must have changed since the shutter speed is lower on the 450d shot. It is possible that due to metering differences the exposure is slightly different, and the slower shutter speed of the 450d may be causing a slight amount of camera shake (assuming you weren't using aa tripod).