40d vs xsi

rob91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
About a 300 dollar price difference, and a quick look tells me they're about the same except that the 40d is 6.5 fps and 10.1 mp, while the xsi is 3.5 fps and 12 mp. Would it have really been that hard for the canon people to make the Xsi 6.5 fps at the same price?

I'm a beginner, but in my opinion is that if they did make the XSi at 6.5 fps than there would be no point in having a 40D now would there? The XSi is an entry level DSLR and a 40D is a few steps up in terms of build and I believe slightly better IQ. The XSi is a DSLR that is still entry level and that is why it has an entry level price :)

That's fine from a marketing standpoint, but common sense, no.

Well, common sense could be that most consumers might not need a 6.5 fps so instead of wasting and adding to the XSi they engineered it into a better camera that is geared more to professionals. Just my opinion.

I just think it's funny that 3 more fps is worth 300$. I'm actually more sad, because the 6.5 is one of the reasons I'm considering the 40d, would be nice not to have to drop the extra cash.

Thanks, good reading.

The other big advantage is the 40d has iso 3200.

You're welcome. Yep, forgot about that.

Really ... it is not just the fps .... the 5D has less fps ... but it cost more. it is the overall package. They are targeted to different groups.

If you have limited budget, go with XSi with better lens.

Personally, I believe Good lens + XSi is better than crap lens + 40D in terms of image quality.

If cost is not an factor, I would go with Good lens + 40D or even 5D MKII.

:lmao::lmao: too bad ... I can't do that right now.

I'm not sure it's smart to base what camera you buy on megapixels, and fps...

Really ... it is not just the fps .... the 5D has less fps ... but it cost more. it is the overall package. They are targeted to different groups.

Can you elaborate on this?