430EX II or 580EX II?

vd853

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I can't decide between these two! This will be my first speedlite, and I don't want to upgrade in the future (but will be slaving). I'm not a Pro (although I do own L lens..), do you guys think a 430 will be more suitable for me? What is really the difference besides a brighter flash? HELP!:confused:

I'd like to see what is suggested... I'm thinking about picking one of those up, too :)

I can't decide between these two! This will be my first speedlite, and I don't want to upgrade in the future (but will be slaving). I'm not a Pro (although I do own L lens..),
Based on what you've stated, you should get the 580EX II first and then the 430EX II down the road. You can slave the 430EX II off the 580EX II but you can't slave a 430EX II off another 430EX II.

Yep, the 580 is the better of the two. Its brighter, cycles faster, has a sync port for using things like Pocket Wizards, and it's capable of being a commander for other flashes.

I bought the 580 first then picked up two 430's as remote/fill flashes.

I'd say the 580exII. You won't need to upgrade that any time soon. It's a rock solid performer.

QFT.

I have two. Love them both. Damn things could fry an egg though (I'm actually carrying both now so that I can swap-out when one heats up; that way I can keep firing away like mad when I'm trying to capture fast-moving action in crappy light without my gels melting...yes, I did it again...was fighting against really, really red lights. Bah!). As stated, you won't need to upgrade any time soon. I have a 550EX as well (the last generation most-powerful flash Canon made), and aside from the marginal difference in GN and a few nifty features on the 580's, it pretty much performs just as well as the new ones; feature-wise anyway.

I agree with all of the above posters.