$5,000 budget for Canon 5D MkII + Lens(s) + Lighting. First project = Fine Jewelry

BEHMER

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
First post. Amazing forum! This might be the place that really pushes me to make this investment for my small startup company. I would greatly appreciate any advice from any of you professional product/studio photographers!

Ok, I am set on the Canon 5D MarkII. This camera will be great for me and the wide range of projects that I hope will lie ahead.

I am now trying to figure out the rest of this equation with a focus on this first "Fine Jewelry" shoot which will be funding this purchase.

Below is an example of one of her pieces which also shows the level of detail I wish to meet or exceed in the shots.

What I am very new with is setting up a similar studio and camera setup to acheave such results.

The one lens I also need to factor in this budget is the EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM. I feel this is a good travel/recreational lens that will also work great for head shots and fashion shots in the studio?
-----

My main concern is getting the proper lens for shooting fine jewelry as this is very new to me.

I am also seeking advice for the ideal lighting setup. I would love to keep things as DIY as possible.

To get an idea of the style and size of her jewelry please visit her old...soon to be renovated website..AndreaFohrman.com

----

Thanks so much for helping out the new guy around here. I look forward to hearing some feedback and making this great investment. This assignment is truly a great opportunity for me to step my game up in this awesome world of photography!

Thanks a million!!

-Sean B.

Example-Shot.jpg

Not to sound harsh but multiply that figure by about 4 to get what you want. Lights aint cheap and neither is glass.

Secondly you cant just buy a crap loada gear and expect amazing results, take some time to learn, spend the cash on a course perhaps ?