50mm 1.8 or the 35mm 1.8

eric-holmes

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I currently own the 50mm 1.8 and I always thought I wanted a longer focal length prime but it seems like it has became more of a hindrance lately. I have been looking into the 35mm 1.8. Does anyone have any experience going from a 50 to a 35 or vice-versa?

In to see what some opinions are. I've also been considering getting the 35mm 1.8, or maybe ditching my 50 for it.

I don't have experience with the 50mm. When I went to the camera store to buy it, they were sold out and only had the 35mm. I LOVE it so far. I thought I was having problems with it, but it turns out I'm just a complete noob...lol.

I highly recommend it!

I think the major difference is just the focal length. Set your zoom lens to 35mm and see if the angle of view is something you are looking for.

I have used both, as well as the 50mm 1.4. Between the 50mm 1.8 and 35mm 1.8, the 35mm is a sharper lens, and works much better on a DX body since it's not as tight/limiting as the 50mm. The 1.4 may be slightly crisper, but it's more than twice the price and you still have to deal with the limiting focal length.

For some the 50mm is a perfect length. If all you shoot is portraits, then the 50mm works great. As a general purpose prime, the 35mm is much easier to use on a DX body. I think you would be very happy with the 35mm.

Here's how I looked at it... If full-frame users love the 50mm 1.4, then the 35mm is perfect for DX cameras since it's effectively a 52mm. Perfect range IMO.

Just my 2 cents.

I do a lot of portraits so I am wondering if I would like the 35mm or if it would be too wide.

I do a lot of portraits so I am wondering if I would like the 35mm or if it would be too wide.