50mm F1/4 ..Is It For Me ???

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Glorsclaws, Jan 21, 2006.

1. Glorsclaws

Glorsclaws TPF Noob!

I think I have decided on what lens to get with my new DSLR...but as a nervous noob I thought I would run it by here before I leave in about an hour.
    Im getting the Canon 5D & have decided to start out with the 50mm F 1/4 lens.
    I take pics of nail art/hands mainly and want get into portraits...do you guys think this is the right lens to be staring out with?
    Any last minute advice would be gratefully appreciated.

2. LaFoto

LaFoto Just Corinna in real life Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you don't really want it, I'd happily take it !!! ;)

3. Digital Matt

Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Is it the right camera to be starting out with, is the question. You really want to spend over $3000 on a camera, if you are a "nervous noob"? Why not look at a 350D, and save yourself a LOT of money. Get the 50mm f/1.8 and save even more money.

That's my advice.

4. usayit

usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

North New Jersey, United States of America
    Photos OK to edit
    The 50mm f1.4 is a very nice lens. Very sharp, well built and pleasant bokeh. Its "cousin", the 50mm f1.8, also produces nice results at a fraction of the cost ($60-$90). Something to consider.....

I'm no expert in nail art and how it is photographed but I'm guessing you might be better off getting a macro lens of some sort. The Canon 100mm f2.8 USM Macro might better serve you for producing pictures of objects up close. The same lens is also known to be an excellent lens for portraits.

5. usayit

usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

North New Jersey, United States of America
    Photos OK to edit