50mm f1.8 - am I an idiot??

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by nemophotos, Sep 21, 2009.

1. nemophotos

nemophotos TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm NOT a professional photographer - nor do I want to be - I just want to take good photos of my new baby.

I borrowed my friends 50mm f1.8 lens the other day and when I shot with it - I was thinking - this isn't really much different than my 18-55mm lens.

Then when I went back and looked at my photos - I noticed NOTHING was shot at f1.8 - and it hit me - was I supposed to manually crank the aperture? I assumed it would automatically set to f1.8 because I thought it was fixed... but now I'm guessing maybe not.

So am I an idiot??? Did I just totally miss out on it? I may have to borrow it again so I can use it CORRECTLY.

I'd love for someone to let me know if I was SUPPOSED to manually crank the aperture to f1.8 or if it was supposed to know.

Sorry - i'm a total noob.

2. Samanax

Samanax TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    What shooting mode were you using?

If you want to use f/1.8 you have to either shoot in Av (aperture priority) or M (manual) and set the aperture value to f/1.8.

If you're shooting on AUTO or P the camera will decide what exposure settings to use (aperture, shutter speed and ISO).

What camera are you using?

3. PhotoXopher

PhotoXopher TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    It doesn't default to f/1.8, necessarily. An f/1.8 lens has an maximum opening of f/1.8 but can go down to f/22 (for example) as well.

4. jbylake

jbylake Dodging the Men in Black Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    It would help greatly if you:
    Tell us what F/stop you were shooting
    What kind of camera
    Film or Digital (I'm assuming digital)
    If Auto mode film, or digital...what mode?

No, you're not an idiot..I'd say that anyone on this site has either goofed, badly, at least once, or fibs alot.;)