50mm lens?

TedBundy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Okay so I have watched a lot of youtube videos and heard that a 50mm lens is extremely good for a beginner because it teaches you how to use your feet instead of relying on the zoom feature. Can you guys confirm or deny and kind of give me some ideas of the pros and cons of this lens? I am looking into getting one as I am a beginner and think this could teach me a few things. I was also looking at this one on amazon and it seems be compatible with my 60D.

Amazon.com: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens: CANON: Camera & Photo

Also if someone was a TOTAL beginner would you recommend the 50mm lens over the standard 18-55 ?

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I'm a big fan of my nifty-fifty from Nikon. Not professional, but it's simplicity leads to rather satisfying results.

Best,
Jake

Pros - very cheap, good low light performance, makes good pictures - DOF effect
Cons - very cheap - plasticky. An EF 50mm on a camera designed for EF-S is more like putting a 70mm on a full frame body, i.e. its more telephoto than normal.

I like it. But start with the 18-55. When you are new to photography, you want to try a number of different approaches. All (Canon) EF and EF-S lenses will work on your 60D (I use a modern 50mm lens on an old Film EOS and it works fine)

Okay so I have watched a lot of youtube videos and heard that a 50mm lens is extremely good for a beginner because it teaches you how to use your feet instead of relying on the zoom feature. Can you guys confirm or deny and kind of give me some ideas of the pros and cons of this lens? I am looking into getting one as I am a beginner and think this could teach me a few things. I was also looking at this one on amazon and it seems be compatible with my 60D.

Also if someone was a TOTAL beginner would you recommend the 50mm lens over the standard 18-55 ?