50mm or 35mm (f1.8) FOR D3400?

lgc1004

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Recently got a Nikon D3400 for christmas and I was interested in getting a nice cheap lens aside from the kit lenses. I came down to the nikon 50mm 1.8 and the 35mm 1.8 however I'm still not entirely sure about the role the DX and FX frames play in the lens. Would I be wasting money to buy a FX lens for my DX body (D3400)?

I'm completely new to photography so any advice will help!

The 35mm lens will be equivalent to a normal lens and the 50 will be equivalent to a modest telephoto lens. Either will work fine.

Both are nice lenses for your camera. For everyday carry, I'd probably choose the 35mm. When I was using a crop camera, I found the 50mm's field of view was too narrow to carry as my only lens, although it does work as a cheap solution for portraits on a DX camera.

I'm still not entirely sure about the role the DX and FX frames play in the lens.
Very little. With your DX camera, the simplest plan is to use both or either. It literally makes no difference in how the camera operates. Even with an FX camera, the user can simply switch the camera to DX mode, and shoot away. Or he wouldn't even have to do that if he will adjust the final crop on the computer later. What difference there is can be summarized in the field of view between the two lenses. The smaller DX sensor will take its capture out of the middle of the image circle, and the FX sensor will utilize more of the image circle.