50mm vs 85mm--- which should I get??

PinkPoodle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello!

I'm pretty new to all of this and have a question as to which lens I should get. I'm currently shooting with an Olympus OMD EM5 and an old Canon Rebel from 7 years ago, or so. I'm really wanting to get into portrait photography as well as newborn photography.

Here's what I'm working with on the Olympus OMD EM5- the kit lens as well as a 17mm 1.8 which is equivalent to the 35mm. For the Canon I have the 50mm 1.8

I keep going back and forth between the 45mm for the micro 3/4 that is equivalent to 90mm in 35mm format and the 25mm which is equivalent to the 50mm.

I would like to move away from my Canon for the time being until I'm able to invest in a more modern and fancy camera but I could always use it for the newborn photos I'm doing. So one part of me is saying get the 45mm because worst case I could always use my 50mm on the Canon, but the other part of me loves that 50mm on the Canon so much I would like to think I would love it for the Olympus.

How much different are these two lenses when doing a family photoshoot?? I like the idea of using the 25mm for both newborn photos and family photos.

Sorry if I'm scatterbrained.... :(

HELP! :)

The 45mm on m43 is a nice portrait lens. 25 (50equiv) is a little short in my opinion. It is (25) useful if you're caught for space but the 45mm one had better more flattering focal length

So what lens(es) do you have on your OMD? If you have the 14-140 (or what ever) just set it to 25 and or 45 and take a bunch of photos at both focal lengths. I personally will go for the 45 as a portrait lens, but if you are working indoors a 90mm fov might be too tight.