5D with 24-105mm Lens ~Store Display model

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by maytay20, Sep 2, 2008.

1. maytay20

maytay20 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    So I have been eyeing a 5D display model for a couple months now at my local best buy store. I finally got the guts today to ask if it was for sale and for a price. It was of course for sale and pretty beat up too. I took a few photos with it and asked questions. After about 45 minutes of employees searching for people in charge and the box / other stuff that should have been with the camera I was told I could buy it for $3,000.00. Now the box with warranty card charger etc was not to be found including the lens cap. I said no but did I turn down a good deal or are my thoughts right in thinking they are nuts for expecting that much for it. It had nicks in the body but it took photos :lmao: and the lens appeared to be scratch free. He did also try to order me a new one but of course couldn't because they were out of stock online. (I already knew this) Even on B&H it is coming up for only $49 more than they were asking new. [​IMG] Thanks, Mary

2. JeepWithCanon

JeepWithCanon TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Personally.... I would not purchase a camera from Best Buy. But that's mostly because I have had a few sour purchases there. It almost sounds like it was the only 5D in stock (the floor display model). I think you were smart to walk away. If I were spending that much money, I would want a brand spanking new one! :wink:

3. William Petruzzo

William Petruzzo TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit