A Brand Newbie!

MrB3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am brand new to photography. Can anyone suggest equipment to start with? What should I be looking for in a camera and other essential equipment. My goal is to eventually get good enough to eak out a part-time income. Any suggestions??

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to photography. Can anyone suggest equipment to start with? What should I be looking for in a camera and other essential equipment. My goal is to eventually get good enough to eak out a part-time income. Any suggestions??

That depends on what your budget is and what you want to shoot.

I'm looking to spend less than $1,000.00 and I would like to shoot portraits/people/buildings etc

You might want to look at this:
[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Canon-Digital-Camera-18-55mm-3-5-5-6/dp/B0012YA85A/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1233922913&sr=8-1]Amazon.com: Canon Digital Rebel XSi 12.2 MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (Black): Electronics[/ame]

And one of these:
[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Canon-430EX-Speedlite-Flash-Cameras/dp/B000AO3L84/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1233922983&sr=1-2]Amazon.com: Canon 430EX Speedlite Flash for Canon Pro1, Pro 90, G Series and all EOS SLR Cameras: Electronics[/ame]

Go to your local library and read all they have on portraiture, lighting, digital photography. Use this forum and the other photo forums for information by real people actually using the equipment. Post pictures for critique.

You'll find options from all the major manufacturer's in your price range. The canon XSi isn't a bad choice but my personal preference would be the Pentax K20D with 18-55mm lens. As your looking to photograph quite a range of items however You might run into budget problems coping with everything.