A career as a winter sports photographer

lefevonline

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey there guys. Im into my 2nd year of studying photography and i was wondering how it is possible to become a photographer for a winter sports magazine. Lets say photographing at professional events for snowboarding and skiing. The reason being is that i love the winter and i love to snowboard. How would i go about perusing my dream? At the moment my major is creative advertising/commercial photography which has nothing to do with outside winter action sports. The thing is that i only got into snowboarding when i was on my summer break, i went over to America and worked at a resort in California during the winter. How do i go about rectifying my current situation and becoming a winter sports photographer rather than a commercial one?

Well let me say something it aint gonn be easy. There is tons of competetion from amatuers and professionals alike. You are not the only one who would see this as a fun career to pursue so you really need to work at it. First and foremost you need to become an excellent photographer and then you need to start getting experience. One suggestion might be to go to your school and see if they have any internships available you could mabye start in newspaper photography. Another avenue might be to pound the pavement go to evry event you can possibly go to if you see someone official shooting there talk to them try to get involved with the people doing what you want to do. I can't say something like this is going to be easy but if you REALLY work at it it might be possible.