A Comparison of the EOS XTI and the D40X

scsomike

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
ok, i'm really new to this so this may not even be apples to apples so to speak. the camera will totally be for personal use. i shoot people, places, action and whatever i happen to see that i think would be worthy of a shot. this will be for hobby of course, but sometimes when i get into hobbies, i get really serious, so i don't want a P&S. i picked both of these because i like the features i've seen on both. they are both 10mp and in the same price range with the 18-55 lens.

that being said, which would you choose and why?

Thanks.

Personally I might be more inclined to go for the XTi for a couple of reasons; it has a more advanced autofocus system, and will work fully with any Canon EOS lens whereas the D40x will not autofocus with several (current as well as older) Nikon AF lenses. But to be honest they compare very well and it would have to come down to which feels better to you. More importantly once you buy an SLR you buy into a system. Both Canon and Nikon offer an extensive range of excellent lenses and accessories so you can't go far wrong with either, but they are different systems and I strongly recommend looking at their systems as a whole rather than at individual camera bodies. Also there are the more basic practical issues, for example there may be a good Nikon or Canon dealer near you, you may know someone with one or the other who can lend you lenses, etc.

And now in the words of the Isley Brothers,

It's your thing,
Do what you wanna do,
I can't tell you,
Who to sock it to.

:mrgreen:

well as it happens i have several dealers near by that carry nikon and canon in addition to most other major brands. i know that the d40x doesn't have the built in AF motor in the body, so that's a draw back there i guess. like i said, all of the dslr technology is really new to me so any advice i can get i'm gonna run with!