a digital SLR camera to grow with?

artist

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello folks,

in full disclosure, i'm not really a photographer (i'm a painter). but i want to purchase an SLR camera that i can grow with. i would mainly be shooting indoors with lights (figurative stuff [models]). and would also love to be able to shoot my artwork (paintings and sculptures) at really high resolution (high enough res. that i could print good quality digital prints someday). honestly, i don't know much about photography. but i will be getting some instruction with this new camera. my price range is $1000-$2000 range. i'm sure i will also be interested in shooting other things in natural light (i.e. outside). i'm sure once i get my camera i'll have questions about lenses and stuff, but for now i just want to focus on the camera (kit).

if you were me and you had not invested in any equipment at this point, what would you want to buy?

any and all advice greatly appreciated! a thousand million thanks.

Nikon D90, I have one and love it...

EDIT: Now that the kids are in bed I can elaborate.

I went from a D40 to a D80, to a D200, to a D90 within a matter of about 2-3 months. Yes, I'm Mr. Indecisive but I also didn't do much research, at the time I knew nothing about cameras or what aperture was.

There's a little of my background.

The D90 gives me tons of options, some I use all the time, some I use on occasion - but I have never felt I am missing anything. I added a GPS for geotagging, it has video as a bonus which has come in handy many times, plus it has a wireless commander mode to control off camera flash wirelessly such as the SB-600, SB-800 and SB-900.

Dual command dials, quick access to almost every common function you need quick access to, the ability to auto focus older lenses with no internal focus motor and the new lenses with one... it's just a great camera all around.

Last edited: