A few photos for your critique..

kami

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here's a few shots I took from a photoshoot last week. I just started doing portraiture photography and hopefully I can improve more with your suggestions. Gear used: Nikon D80 / Sigma 18-50mm 2.8 / SB-600 thru white shoot thru umbrella / triggered via RP JRX /

I was using ISO 400 for all shots with aperture varying from F4-5.6, shutter speeds from 80-200. I had an assistant hold the umbrella with a monopod. Light was cloudy, white balance used was flash. No post-processing was done except cropping and framing.

31copy-1.jpg

33copy.jpg

32copy.jpg

34copy.jpg

35copy.jpg

pretty girl and great photos. Although.. the face on number four is oof. Still, great job.

Can you explain to me about the umbrella. I am new to flash photography and i wonder what you mean when you say "through" the umbrella.

pretty girl and great photos. Although.. the face on number four is oof. Still, great job.

Can you explain to me about the umbrella. I am new to flash photography and i wonder what you mean when you say "through" the umbrella.

There are different types of umbrella's to use with flashes. There are "shoot through" for softer, more diffused light, and reflective which gives a harsher more focused light. Here's a good read:

Strobist: Lighting 101: Umbrellas

A search will bring up loads of info on this, so it's probably best to not clutter the thread.

OP, nice shots but I too noticed you missed the focus on her face in one of the photo's. #2 and #3 are my favorites, but I am not sure if I like her shoulder position in #2. I like the pose in #4 but as I mentioned it's OOF and a little dark.