A Few Shots From a Beach Photoshoot

ncstater1919

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What up everyone,
A few friends and I decided to go to the beach for the day and then I decided to do a photoshoot of one of my friends. So just let me know what you think and C&C welcome!

DSC_0018-1.jpg

DSC_0041_3.jpg

DSC_0096_3.jpg

DSC_0117_2.jpg

DSC_0183.jpg

DSC_0272.jpg

Thanks for looking!

yep just my D40 18mm-55mm

i'm saving up for my 18mm-200mm VR lens.

I've never done anything on the beach before and i think a reflector would have helped...

my gf of 4 years had a bikini like the first few shots. :-( Why bring back the memories?? lol..

Nice pic man. Cute chick too

The third works well. The hard light in this case is alright, and actually compliments her features. Good vertical lines, blue sky. Cool.

The rest are...yeah, meh. They generally lack contrast and any amount of pop or punch. And her skin-tones look quite red and over-saturated where she's darker, which is probably a result of underexposing her. A reflector, or lots of flash (gelled appropriately) would do wonders.

ugh yea i wish i had brought a reflector with me but i hadn't planned on doing a shoot on the beach. it was kind of a whim. in #1,2, and 4 the sun was behind her and it made it hard to edit because it made her look fake when i had to add light to her since it was so dark + my lack of experience editting...

basically what I was looking for was is the composition on? I'm still learning about portraits and I know normally making the subject centered often makes it dull but should you not do that when doing portraits?

You should invest your money in a flash before you get that lens. I made that mistake of buying cool lenses before and just recently bought a flash and the difference it makes is night and day!!

Number three is very nice. I like the poses in the rest but as others said she looks a little sunburned....