A ? from a newbie... ok maybe 2

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by NICKERJONES, Nov 5, 2009.

1. NICKERJONES

NICKERJONES TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Ok first off I am a huge newbie. I have lurked for a while but just got a d3000 a few days ago. My dad brought it in to work and said " i know you have been looking at these , so here ya go!"
    Anyway I took it to a hockey game last night since I want to try sports photos. I know Hockey is hard to shoot because of the ice and all. How do I get the Photos brighter? I think I had iso at 1600 .... I still dont know all the controls. I dont have a photo editing software so I cant crop or anything yet. Which one should I use ( Cheaper as better so I can learn some things before I drop a ton of dough) ? I also plan on taking a few classes to help me out with learning the basics etc.... I know these are bad but hey I gotta start somewhere..:D

[​IMG]

and then here are a few of my dogs. The first few pics i took , straight out of box just messing around.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. robertwsimpson

robertwsimpson No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What mode are you shooting in? If you're shooting in any of the "automatic" modes, just bump your EV+/- toward the plus side to brighten up a photo.

If you want something to post process pictures with, everyone here uses gimp. I personally do not like that software, so I use one called raw therapee. Both are free.

have fun man!

3. Inst!nct

Inst!nct TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Well first of all, congratz!
    ill start off with just the pictures themselves

#1.