A full photoshop workflow

Overread

hmm I recognise this place! And some of you!
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.deviantart.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
C Brush

Is very very much worth your time to watch. Even if you only have something like photoshope elements there is a lot of adivce you can pick up and methods that can be directly used.

It's also a whole workflow rather than just isolated tutorials so it gives some context to the methods being discussed and shows you the end product of the methods

Overread
Thanks for showing us this tutorial. I have had no prior experience in PP and now I feel like I am one step closer to understanding this stuff. I am one who likes to see how others do it.

Thanks for the link. Should be very useful.

This seems extremely useful. But my question is, are those default presets good for any picture or are they just good for that specific picture he was editing? Also, I use Photoshop elements so there is no reason for me to edit in 16 bits/channel right?

Elements won't do anything for 16 bit images so you have to drop down to 8bit. You will also need to google up a curves editor download and a layermask download (there are freeware versions of both online if you hunt around). With those the only real thing that elements lacks from the process is the blending tool (elements does have some blending features, but lacks that main dialogue that he brings up).

The dodge and burn we also have ot do slightly differently - copy the base layer then select a brush - set it to max size and paint over the image with grey (go to the colour pallet and set the custom colour to h 350, s 0, b 50 with r, g and b to 127 to get grey). After that set the layer to overlay and then black and white with the brush will give you burn and dodge.

I wish there was something like this strictly for elements. This makes my elements look so un-useful, which I know its not.