A Little Help & A Little Critique ?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by SiCk, Feb 7, 2006.

1. SiCk

SiCk TPF Noob!

First of all i've been doing this for maybe 3 - 4 months now, and I've heard some good comments on my stuff, but personally i'm not a big fan of my own work except for the odd shot or 2 that i love to bits.
    Mainly This one and This One, So where i am now, i'm sort of stuck, do i keep shooting and hope to find my own style that i'll learn to love? or do i start imitating other photographers that i love and hope to develop my own from that? Or do you see a trend in my photos so far? As i dont...

Http://www.wakeuphate.com/ Is The Site, dont critique it, i know its a festering pile of crap, so just stick to harshing the photos :)

The second problem i have is how do i start getting bigger gigs for shooting? Do i contact promoters? The bands themselves? Local Magazines? I'm currently in Northern Ireland, and to my knowledge there are maybe 3 other people that i know of that are Very good photographers in this business in Belfast. Mainly: Iona Bateman , Graham Smith and Gavin Millar All awesome in their own right. But i want to be one of those photographers everyone knows and i want bands to approach ME to take photos for them. Even if its only local bands! , However some of the good news is that bands are starting to know me, Belfast is a small place and Word is already spreading, I've had bands email me right after a gig without me telling them my email address or name... which means im getting spread by word of mouth.

Am i asking too much here? Or how should i go about doing what im doing?

At the moment my equipment exists of:
    Canon 300d ( with the 20d firmware hack )
    Canon Vertical Battery Grip
    Canon 18-55
    a Crappy CF card. ( soon to be upgraded due to slowness. )

and When it gets delivered a Fisheye Filter for the 18-55, as i cant yet afford a full fisheye lens.