A little help please?

candi3188

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So, though I'm still an amateur (very much so), I just know that I love photography. Here's the thing, I'm looking to buy a new camera, however much saving it takes. Fairly soon, I plan on upgrading from my current digital camera, a samsung digimax L60. It is a fine camera for what I paid, but I now want something a tad bit more capable. Something with at least 8MP, DIS, and preferably takes a rechargeable battery and an SD card (yes, i'm picky).
However, this is just a temporary fix. I love the convenience of a capable point-and-shoot, but as i advance, i'd like to invest in an SLR. i know how expensive these are, so the cheaper, the better, as long as it's still very capable. I am on a very, very tight budget of a college student. But i have recently changed my minor to photography, so an SLR isn't outrageous. One of my photography teachers recommended a couple to me, but idk about them.
So what i'm asking of you all is that you provide me with some suggestions keeping in mind my budget issue. Suggestions for a digital camera are appreciated, but what i really need is suggestions for an SLR. thanks in advance guys!

Some may scoff at this recommendation ...Get a Pentax K1000. They can be found all over e-bay and I have seen them with BUY-IT NOW's of $80.00. Yes they are manual everything and auto nothing. But if you are going to learn Photography you will not be using auto anything for quite some time. Keep you P&S for snapshots. Use your K-1000 for photography. I have had mine since 1982 and still use it from time to time. Nicest thing about the K-1000 is that if your taking a picture of someone and they start giving you a hard time...you can smack them over the head with the camera and go right back to taking pictures:lol:, these are tough cameras.

look at this one on e-bay "Buy it now" for $90.00 with 2 lenses