a question about b&w

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by JahLynJie, May 15, 2007.

1. JahLynJie

JahLynJie TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    This may be a rather stupid question but bear with me, I'm still fairly new to all of this.

I have a Fuji S5200. It has a setting option to shoot in b&w.
    Here comes the stupid question part:
    Is there a difference between using the b&w setting and shooting in color then changing it to b&w when editing the photo? I mean, as far as how the finished photo will look (if all other settings were the same).

:blushing:

2. Digital Matt

Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

Photos NOT OK to edit
    You'll much more control over the final image if you shoot in color and convert to black and white in post process.

3. JahLynJie

JahLynJie TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Alright, thank you.

Unfortunatly, I don't have Photoshop. I have a sub-par photo editing program called Photo Explosion. It will let me convert an image to b&w but I'm not sure how good it is compared to Photoshop.

I know Photoshop can be expensive. Is there a cheaper-but-just-as-good version of it?

4. stockaz

stockaz TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Okay, I have this 'friend' who downloaded a copy of Photoshop and all the required codes from a P2P site called Limewire. It's illegal and a bit naughty but it might be an option until your budget can stretchhhhhhh (call it a free preview - probably won't stand up in court but it will ease your consience).

Hope that helps :)

5. Steph

Steph No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What you are suggesting is called theft. It might not be such a good idea to promote this type of activities on this forum.

6. Digital Matt

Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Try the gimp.

gimp.org

7. JahLynJie

JahLynJie TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Hummm... I think I'd rather stay legal, thanks.

8. JahLynJie

JahLynJie TPF Noob!