A Question Regarding Headhshots & Different Clients

guitarmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm posting this mostly out of frustration. Looking forward to your input.

In the launching of Tenfold Photography, my biz, I'm targeting a variety of markets. I get business from the indie music scene here because I'm a musician. That's one avenue. One of the other avenues I'm looking into is the 'theatre scene'.

So I asked a friend of mine, who is active in the theatre scene, where some good places might be to drop off a portfolio or hand out cards. Theatres, theatre companies, etc. The conversation turned to headshots, at which point she said "You should actually DO some headshots though". To which I replied, "I have done headshots. Look at these ones".

1326982272_3ef59ab05f_m.jpg
1326086865_52dca5a2e1_m.jpg

m_14deee624032bd644702637b18bb34ac.jpg

These are just a few examples (not perfect, I know, but just for the sake of this discussion).

When she saw these, she said "Those pictures are nice, but they're not HEADSHOTS." Apparently, headshots in the theatre community mean something different??

I'm confused/mad, but wanted some other input. Are these headshots? Are these suitable for actors (I'm talking lighting & comp)?

Convert them to black and white and print them on 8x10 glossy paper...then your theater friend will think they are head shots. :scratch:

Convert them to black and white and print them on 8x10 glossy paper...then your theater friend will think they are head shots. :scratch:

Heh, maybe.

I dunno, they look like headshots to me. I did a few actor headshots in the past, and there were a mix of this type, and also some more 3/4 length. I did them outdoors to provide some compositional background elements. For actors, set up a scene and let them act.

Check out this guy for inspiration: http://www.studiomark.com/headshots.html